TOUQUES - JUNE 15, 2024

EVENING MÉDIÉVALE AND FIREWORKS SHOW

The medieval city invites you to relive the era of the Dukes of Normandy, Vikings, troubadours and knights.

Every year, Touques plunges back into the past to celebrate its heritage as the second largest city in Normandy during the Middle Ages. The town puts on its medieval colors for the evening, inviting visitors to feast in a convivial and flamboyant atmosphere. At the end of the evening, visitors are invited to gather in the wash-house parking lot to watch a grand fireworks display that will bring the event to a fitting close. It's an opportunity to discover the town's history through the daily lives of the peasants of the time, as well as those of the acrobats and men-at-arms. 

Touques, a medieval town with a rich history
The town's heyday came during the late Middle Ages. Thanks to its bustling port, Touques became an obligatory stopover for Dukes and Kings on their way to England. This, combined with the exploitation of the town's 52 salt pans, led to considerable economic growth in Touques during the 13th century.
The first Duke of Normandy, the Scandinavian Viking Rollon, fortified the castle of Bonneville sur Touques to protect himself from possible sea attacks. Later, it was also at Bonneville sur Touques that William the Conqueror gathered his barons to finalize strategies for the conquest of English territory.

Close

Contact us:
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices :

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
See opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See opening hours

TOUQUES TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
See opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Promenade Louis Delamare
(behind the first-aid post)
14800 Tourgéville
See opening hours

TOUQUES - 15 JUIN 2024

SOIRÉE MÉDIÉVALE ET GRAND SPECTACLE DE FEU

La cité médiévale invite à revivre l’époque des ducs de Normandie, des vikings, des troubadours et des chevaliers.

Chaque année Touques plonge dans le passé en célébrant son patrimoine de deuxième métropole Normande au Moyen Age. La cité se met aux couleurs médiévales, le temps d'une soirée, pour inviter ses visiteurs à festoyer dans une ambiance conviviale et flamboyante. A l'issue de la soirée les visiteurs sont invités à se rassembler sur le parking du lavoir afin d'assister à un grand spectacle de feu qui viendra clore l'évènement en beauté. L'occasion de découvrir l'histoire de la ville à travers le quotidien des paysans de l'époque mais aussi des saltimbanques et des gens d'armes. 

Touques, une cité médiévale qui brille par son histoire
C'est en effet pendant la période du bas Moyen-Age que la ville a connu son apogée. Grâce à son port, très dynamique, le village de Touques est devenu un passage obligatoire des Ducs et des Rois pour aller en Angleterre. Cette spécificité associée à l'exploitation des 52 salines de la commune ont permis à Touques de connaître un essor économique considérable durant le XIIIe siècle. 
Le premier Duc de Normandie, le Viking scandinave Rollon, fortifia le château de Bonneville sur Touques afin de se protéger d’éventuelles attaques maritimes. Plus tard, c'est également au château de Bonneville sur Touques que Guillaume le Conquérant réunissait ses barons pour finaliser les stratégies de conquête du territoire anglais.

Fermer

Nous contacter :
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Nos bureaux d’information touristique :

DEAUVILLE TOURISME
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISME
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISME
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERVILLE TOURISME
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOUQUES TOURISME
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISME
Promenade Louis Delamare
(derrière le poste de secours)
14800 Tourgéville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture