French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

LE THEATER FROM THE CASINO BARRIERE

It is, with Cherbourg and Lisieux, one of the three Italian theaters in Lower Normandy. It was built in 1910 within the Casino, at the initiative of Eugène Cornuché who relaunched the station by offering it, among other things, an abundant artistic program.

Casino Barrière Theater© Claude Doaré
© Sandrine Boyer
© Claude Doaré

The casino was inaugurated in 1912 by the Ballets Russes. Its architecture is inspired by the Opera of the Palace of Versailles. It borrows from this model the oval-shaped room and the arch supporting the ceiling. The large horseshoe-shaped balcony punctuated by tall wooden columns with fluted shanks. The toile de Jouy marks the decor of the place which has kept its original composition. The stage frame is surmounted by statues of Neptune and Amphitrite (character from Greek mythology).

Today, the theater hosts all the meetings of the Cultural Season of the City of Deauville and a program of shows at the Casino Barrière. It occasionally hosts shows as part of the Deauville festivals. It can also be rented for private events.

© Claude Doaré

The shows agenda

Discover here

The great season of Deauville ... the key dates

For its inauguration in 1912, the first season of the new casino is prestigious. Vaslav Nijinsky, flag bearer of Russian ballets, symbol of a revolutionary choreographic form plays on August 16 "The specter of the rose".

Renée Lamy, Jacqueline François, Suzy Solidor, Anny Gould performed there in 1948.

In July 1951, Juliette Greco won the grand prize for French song here with "Je hais les dimanches", on a text written by Charles Aznavour.

From 1949 to 1962, the Marquis de Cueva's ballets performed there for 13 consecutive seasons with great success.

Edith Piaf will be the star of the 1959 season.



My travel book

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

LE THEATRE DU CASINO BARRIERE

 

C'est, avec Cherbourg et Lisieux, l’un des trois théatres à l’italienne de Basse Normandie. Il est construit en 1912 au sein du Casino, à l’initiative d’Eugène Cornuché qui relance la station en lui offrant, entre autres, une programmation artistique foisonnante.

 

Théâtre du Casino Barrière©Claude Doaré
©Sandrine Boyer
©Claude Doaré

Le casino est inauguré en 1912 par les Ballets russes. Son architecture est inspirée par l'Opéra du Château de Versailles. Il emprunte à ce modèle la salle de forme ovale et la voussure supportant le plafond. Le large balcon en fer à cheval scandé par de hautes colonnes en bois à fût cannelé. La toile de Jouy signe le décor du lieu qui a gardé sa composition d'origine. Le cadre de scène est surmonté de statues de Neptune et d'Amphitrite (personnage de la mythologie grecque).

Aujourd'hui, le théâtre accueille une programmation de spectacles du Casino Barrière et donne accès à sa scène ponctuellement aux festivals de Deauville. Il peut également être loué pour des manifestations privées.

©Claude Doaré

L'agenda des spectacles

Découvrez ici

La grande saison de Deauville... les dates marquantes

 

Pour son inauguration  en 1912, la première saison du nouveau casino est prestigieuse. Vaslav Nijinsky, porte drapeau des ballets russes, symbole d’une forme chorégraphique révolutionnaire joue le 16 août "Le spectre de la rose".

Renée Lamy, Jacqueline François, Suzy Solidor, Anny Gould s’y produisent en 1948.

En juillet 1951, Juliette Greco remporte ici le grand prix de la chanson française avec "Je hais les dimanches", sur un texte écrit par Charles Aznavour.

De 1949 à 1962, les ballets du Marquis de Cueva s'y produisent pour 13 saisons à la suite avec beaucoup de succès.

Edith Piaf sera la star de la saison 1959.