French Dutch English German Spanish

Hido Todd

Photographer

Guest at the 2020 Contact Plates Festival

Todd Hido, American photographer born in 1968, continues on his long journeys to find images that relate to his own memories. With a very particular use of color, Todd HIDO suggests instability behind the appearance of the landscapes and situations he photographs. Author of several books, his images appear in the collections of important American museums, he is represented in Paris by the prestigious gallery Les Filles du Calvaire. During his residency, he proposes to survey the Normandy countryside and to stage models under a particular light, inspired by that of northern painters and Flemish painting.
Todd Hido is a San Francisco Bay-based artist whose work has been published in Artforum, The New York Times Magazine, Eyemazing, Wired, Elephant, FOAM, and Vanity Fair. His photographs are in the permanent collections of the Getty, the Whitney Museum of Art, the Guggenheim Museum, New York, San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, the Young Museum, the Smithsonian, the Los Angeles County Museum of Art, as well as in many other public and private collections. Author of more than a dozen books, including the important monograph Excerpts from Silver Meadows, published in 2013, Intimate Distance: Twenty-Five Years of Photographs, a Chronological Album published by Aperture in 2016. His latest book, Bright Black World was published in 2018 by Nazraeli Press.
Todd Hido is also a very large collector of photographic books and his collection was recognized as one of the most important in the world in 2018 by Random House (Bibliomania: The World's Most Interesting Private Libraries).

Arrived in February in Deauville and returned to San Francisco just before confinement, filled by the northern lights in winter, Todd Hido sublimated landscapes and young women, always on the trail of memories and primitive images.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Exhibition from October 17 to January 3, 2020 - Le Point de Vue - Place des six fusués, at the corner of Boulevard de la Mer and rue Tristan Bernard, next to the Olympic swimming pool.

My travel book

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Hido Todd

Photographe

Invité au festival planches contact 2020

Todd Hido, photographe américain né en 1968, poursuit pendant ses long voyages la recherche d’images qui se rapportent à ses propres souvenirs. Avec une utilisation très particulière de la couleur, Todd HIDO suggère une instabilité derrière l’apparence des paysages et des situations qu’il photographie. Auteur de plusieurs livres, ses images figurent dans les collections d’importants musées américains, il est représenté à Paris par la prestigieuse galerie Les Filles du Calvaire. Pendant sa résidence, il se propose d’arpenter la campagne normande et de mettre en scène des modèles sous une lumière particulière, inspirée de celle des peintres du Nord et de la peinture flamande.  
Todd Hido est un artiste basé dans la Baie de San Francisco dont les travaux ont été publiés dans Artforum, The New York Times Magazine, Eyemazing, Wired, Elephant, FOAM, et Vanity Fair. Ses photographies sont dans les collections permanentes du Getty, du Whitney Museum of Art, du Guggenheim Museum, New York, San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, du Young Museum, du Smithsonian, the Los Angeles County Museum of Art, aussi bien que dans de nombreuses autres collections publiques et privées. Auteur de plus d’une douzaine de livres, dont l’importante monographie Excerpts from Silver Meadows, publiée en 2013, Intimate Distance : Twenty-Five Years of Photographs, a Chronological Album publié par Aperture en 2016. Son dernier livre, intitulé Bright Black World a été publié en 2018 par Nazraeli Press.
Todd Hido est également un très grand collectionneur de livres photographiques et sa collection a été reconnue comme l’une des plus importantes au monde en 2018 par Random House (Bibliomania : The World’s Most Interesting Private Libraries).

Arrivé en février à Deauville et rentré à San Francisco juste avant le confinement, comblé par les lumières du nord en hiver, Todd Hido a sublimé paysages et jeunes femmes, toujours sur les traces de souvenirs et d'images primitives.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Exposition du 17 octobre au 3 janvier 2020 - Le Point de Vue - Place des six fusillés, à l'angle du Boulevard de la Mer et de la rue Tristan Bernard, à côté de la piscine olympique.