TOUQUES, THE STORY OF A MEDIEVAL HERITAGE

Touques, the ancient maritime gateway to the Pays d'Auge, was an important economic and political center in the Middle Ages. From the 12th to the 19th century, the village was a prosperous trading port, where dukes and kings disembarked from England. A period of fortune reflected in a remarkably well-preserved heritage, to be admired along the streets.

William the Conqueror, Rollon, the Scandinavian Viking... The Dukes of Normandy understood the strategic importance of Touques, the last village before the sea. Its port was a thriving business, with shipyards and exports (wood, salt, apples, cider, Calvados) generating considerable revenue. But from 1850 onwards, the lack of profitability of the salt works and the development of the nearby seaside resorts of Deauville and Trouville-sur-Mer led to a period of economic desertification. The former quays of Saint-Pierre and Saint-Thomas were renamed Quai Monrival with wooden sculptures evoking boats.

Over the centuries, the main thoroughfare through Touques has witnessed the flowering of beautiful buildings. And it's around Place Lemercier that typical Auger half-timbered houses, two churches in a variety of styles, a world-famous stud farm, two washhouses, an admiralty and a salt granary have gradually sprung up.

Thanks to its history with a capital H, Touques today enjoys a thriving cultural life thanks to its numerous events and its Quartier des Arts where a wide range of artists live together all year round.

TOUQUES, A SMALL TOWN WITH A STRONG CHARACTER

Touques did Calvados proud in 2019, becoming the first commune in the department to be awarded the "Petit Cité character" label.Petit Cité de caractère". A guarantee of authenticity and recognition, this Breton appellation, created in 1975, promotes rural villages with fewer than 6,000 inhabitants and an architectural heritage as rich as it is cultural. Once centers of regional interest, these towns were gradually abandoned after the revolutions, without ever losing their charm. Touques ticks all the right boxes: vestiges of life in the Middle Ages (the Grenier à Sel, the Admiralty, the market halls, the washhouses and the half-timbered houses), heritage sites reinvested for new uses (Saint-Pierre church hosting exhibitions and the former stables of the Haras de Meautry transformed into workshops and constituting the Quartier des Arts) and events to promote heritage to residents and visitors (Les Médiévales, apéros-jazz, the Fête de la Pomme...).

LES MÉDIÉVALES: THE FESTIVAL CELEBRATING THE MIDDLE AGES

As the birthplace of William the Conqueror, Normandy is intimately linked with the great era of the Middle Ages. This is a strength for Touques, which has plunged spectators into the past every year since 2011, celebrating its heritage as Normandy's second-largest metropolis in the Middle Ages. With Les Médiévalesa journey back in time is guaranteed. The history of the village is told; drums beat in the half-timbered streets; Vikings, tavern-keepers, acrobats and knights who have come to feast parade before the astonished gaze of children; the public discovers the daily life of the peasants of the time. The high point of the festivities: the great fire show, with its original and spellbinding choreography, where the flames tangle together for the pleasure of the eyes.

 

 

Close

Contact us:
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices :

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
See opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See opening hours

TOUQUES TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
See opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Promenade Louis Delamare
(behind the first-aid post)
14800 Tourgéville
See opening hours

TOUQUES, HISTOIRE D'UN PATRIMOINE MEDIEVAL

Ancienne porte maritime du Pays d’Auge, Touques était un important pôle économique et politique au Moyen-Âge. Fort d’une exploitation des salines alors présentes dans la vallée de la Touques, le village accueillait également un port de commerce prospère du XIIème au XIXème siècle, où Ducs et Rois débarquaient d’Angleterre. Une période de fortune reflétée par un patrimoine remarquablement conservé, à admirer le long des rues.

Guillaume Le Conquérant, Rollon, viking scandinave… Les Ducs de Normandie avaient compris l’importance stratégique de Touques, dernier village avant la mer. Son port fonctionnait activement entre chantiers navals et exportations (bois, sel, pommes, cidre, Calvados), assurant ainsi des revenus considérables. Mais dès 1850, le manque de rentabilité des salines et le développement des stations balnéaires voisines, Deauville et Trouville-sur-Mer, causent à la commune une période de désertification économique. Les anciens quais Saint-Pierre et Saint-Thomas ont été rebaptisés Quai Monrival et sont matérialisés par des sculptures en bois évoquant des bateaux.

Au fil des siècles, l’artère principale qui traverse Touques a vu fleurir de belles constructions. Et c’est autour de la Place Lemercier que se sont installés progressivement des maisons à colombages typiquement augeronnes, deux églises aux styles hétéroclites, un haras mondialement connu, deux lavoirs, une amirauté et un grenier à sel.

De par son Histoire avec un grand H, Touques jouit aujourd'hui d'une vie culturelle florissante grâce à ses nombreuses manifestations et son Quartier des Arts où cohabitent à l'année une palette d'artistes.

TOUQUES, UNE PETITE CITÉ AU CARACTÈRE BIEN TREMPÉ

Touques a fait la fierté du Calvados en 2019, devenant la première commune du département à être labellisée "Petit Cité de caractère". Gage d’authenticité et de reconnaissance, cette appellation bretonne créée en 1975 valorise les villages ruraux de moins de 6000 habitants au patrimoine architectural aussi riche que culturel. Autrefois centres d'intérêt régional, ces cités sont peu à peu délaissées après les révolutions, sans jamais perdre leur charme. A Touques, toutes les cases sont cochées : des vestiges témoins de la vie au Moyen-Âge (le Grenier à Sel, l’Amirauté, les halles, les lavoirs et les maisons à colombages), des lieux patrimoniaux réinvestis pour de nouveaux usages (l’église Saint-Pierre accueillant des expositions et les anciennes écuries du Haras de Meautry transformées en ateliers et constituant le Quartier des Arts) et des animations pour promouvoir le patrimoine auprès des habitants et visiteurs (Les Médiévales, les apéros-jazz, la Fête de la Pomme…).

LES MÉDIÉVALES : LE FESTIVAL QUI CÉLÈBRE LE MOYEN-ÂGE

Terre natale de Guillaume Le Conquérant, la Normandie est intimement liée à la grande époque du Moyen-Âge. Une force pour Touques qui, chaque année depuis 2011, plonge les spectateurs dans le passé en célébrant son patrimoine de deuxième métropole Normande au Moyen-Âge. Avec Les Médiévales, le voyage dans le temps est assuré. L’histoire du village se raconte ; les tambours raisonnent dans les ruelles à colombages ; les vikings, taverniers, saltimbanques et chevaliers venus festoyer défilent devant le regard ébahi des enfants ; le public découvre le quotidien des paysans de l’époque. Point d’orgue de la fête : le grand spectacle de feu, aux chorégraphies originales et envoûtantes, où les flammes s’emmêlent pour le plaisir des yeux.

 

 

Fermer

Nous contacter :
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Nos bureaux d’information touristique :

DEAUVILLE TOURISME
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISME
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISME
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERVILLE TOURISME
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOUQUES TOURISME
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISME
Promenade Louis Delamare
(derrière le poste de secours)
14800 Tourgéville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture