Visit
May 29, 2023

Touques, a "small city of character

Touques, a town steeped in history and heritage, is the first commune in Calvados to be awarded the "Petite cité de caractère" label. 

The label, created in 1975 in Brittany, aims to promote towns with fewer than 6,000 inhabitants and a rich historical and cultural heritage, as part of a regional development approach. To date, the network has more than 180 "Petites cités de caractère" throughout France. To apply, eligible communities must meet around thirty commitments to safeguarding, promoting and animating their heritage, as well as the quality of their welcome for visitors. Applications are examined by an approval commission made up of representatives from the tourism, culture, architecture and heritage authorities. Follow-up audits are carried out every five years.

Enlarge
Town of Touques
Town of Touques
Town of Touques
Town of Touques
Town of Touques
Town of Touques
Town of Touques
Town of Touques
Reduce

Town of Touques

Town of Touques

Town of Touques

Town of Touques

Town of Touques

Town of Touques

Town of Touques

Town of Touques

The main criteria for certification

1. The commune must be protected as a Historic Monument or Remarkable Heritage Site.
Touques has five historical monuments: Saint-Pierre church dating from the 11th century and classified since 1840, Saint-Thomas church dating from the 11th and 12th centuries and classified as a Historic Monument in 1926, the Manoir du Grenier à sel dating from the 17th century and classified as a Historic Monument in 1969, the former Admiralty Hotel dating from the XVIth and XVIIth centuries and the Meautry Manor whose portal dates from the XVIIth century and is partly listed as a Historic Monument (portal in 1933, facades and roofs of the buildings adjoining the manor in 1948).

2. Municipalities with less than 6000 inhabitants at the time of application.
3760 inhabitants were counted in Touques in 2015.

3. The agglomeration must have a sufficiently dense building stock to give it the appearance of a city, have a quality and homogeneous architectural heritage that bears witness to its history, and have exercised and/or exercise urban functions of centrality.
Touques is one of the oldest towns in the Pays d'Auge and was a very active commercial port until 1825, with up to 52 salt works. From this period, the town has kept an exceptional heritage, with its half-timbered houses and its monuments classified or registered as Historic Monuments.

4. The municipality must have a multi-year program for the restoration and rehabilitation of the built heritage and for the development of tangible and intangible heritage.
Touques applies a controlled management of its urbanism (development of urban furniture, restriction of advertising signs...) and has reinvested heritage places in other uses such as the Saint-Pierre church which regularly hosts exhibitions.

5. The municipality must be part of the strategy for the development of tourism in its territory.
Since the 1970s, businesses, restaurants and cultural activities have continued to develop. Since 2017, Touques has joined with ten other communes of the Community of Communes within the same structure, the Société publique locale de développement territorial et touristique du territoire de Deauville (local public company for territorial and tourist development of the territory of Deauville), dedicated to the tourist attractiveness of the territory, and united under the territorial brand inDeauville.

 

The "Petites Cités de Caractère" network

Presentation of the history, concept and requirements of the national brand "Petites Cités de Caractère", filmed in September 2015 on the occasion of the launch of the website www.petitescitesdecaractere.com, by Françoise Gatel, President of the National Association Petites Cités de Caractère France.

Close

Contact us:
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices :

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
See opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See opening hours

TOUQUES TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
See opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Promenade Louis Delamare
(behind the first-aid post)
14800 Tourgéville
See opening hours

Touques, une "petite cité de caractère"

Un an après avoir déposé sa candidature, Touques, ville d’Histoire et de patrimoine, vient d'obtenir le label "Petite cité de caractère", attribué pour la première fois à une commune du Calvados. Gage de qualité pour les visiteurs, les communes labellisées et qui promeuvent le tourisme culturel et patrimonial ont vu leur fréquentation augmenter en moyenne de 20%.

Après un an et demi de travail, la ville de Touques répond désormais à tous les critères préalables à l’obtention du label, créé en 1975 en Bretagne, pour valoriser les communes de moins de 6000 habitants dotées d’un riche patrimoine historique et culturel, dans une démarche de développement territoriale. A ce jour, le réseau compte plus de 180 "Petites cités de caractère" dans toute le France. Pour postuler, les communes éligibles doivent répondre à une trentaine d’engagements en faveur de la sauvegarde, de la valorisation et de l’animation du patrimoine, mais aussi de la qualité d'accueil des visiteurs. Les candidatures sont examinées par une commission d'homologation composée de représentants des instances référentes du tourisme, de la culture, de l'architecture et du patrimoine. Des audits de suivi sont ensuite effectués tous les cinq ans.

Agrandir
Ville de Touques
Ville de Touques
Ville de Touques
Ville de Touques
Ville de Touques
Ville de Touques
Ville de Touques
Ville de Touques
Réduire

Ville de Touques

Ville de Touques

Ville de Touques

Ville de Touques

Ville de Touques

Ville de Touques

Ville de Touques

Ville de Touques

Les principaux critères préalables à la labellisation

1. La commune doit être soumise à une protection au titre des Monuments Historiques, ou d’un Site Patrimonial Remarquable.
Touques compte cinq monuments historiques : L’église Saint-Pierre datant du XIe siècle et classée depuis 1840, l’église Saint-Thomas datant des XIe et XIIe siècles et classée aux Monuments Historiques en 1926, le Manoir du Grenier à sel datant du XVIIe siècle et classé aux Monuments historiques en 1969, l’ancien hôtel de l’Amirauté datant des XVIe et XVIIe siècles et le Manoir de Meautry dont le portail date du XVIIe et inscrit en partie aux Monuments historiques (portail en 1933, façades et toitures des bâtiments attenant au manoir en 1948).

2. Communes de moins de 6000 habitants au moment de la demande d’adhésion.
3760 habitants ont été recensés à Touques en 2015.

3. L’agglomération doit avoir un bâti suffisamment dense pour lui donner l’aspect d’une cité, détenir un patrimoine architectural de qualité et homogène témoin de son histoire, avoir exercé et /ou exercer des fonctions urbaines de centralité.
Touques est l’une des plus anciennes villes du Pays d’Auge et fut un port de commerce très actif jusqu’en 1825, possédant jusqu’à 52 salines. De cette époque, la ville a conservé un patrimoine exceptionnel, avec ses maisons à pans de bois et ses monuments classés ou inscrits aux Monuments Historiques.

4. La commune doit avoir un programme pluriannuel de restauration et réhabilitation du patrimoine bâti et de mise en valeur des patrimoines matériels et immatériels.
Touques applique une gestion contrôlée de son urbanisme (aménagement du mobilier urbain, restriction des panneaux publicitaires…) et a réinvesti des lieux patrimoniaux en d'autres usages comme l’église Saint-Pierre qui accueille régulièrement des expositions.

5. La commune doit s’inscrire dans la stratégie de développement touristique de son territoire.
Depuis les années 1970, commerces, restaurants et activités culturelles n'ont cessé de se développer. Depuis 2017, Touques s’est associée à dix autres communes de la Communauté de communes au sein d’une même structure, la Société publique locale de développement territorial et touristique du territoire de Deauville, dédiée à l’attractivité touristique du territoire, et réunies sous la marque territoriale inDeauville.

 

Le réseau "Petites Cités de Caractère"

Présentation de l'histoire, du concept et des exigences de la marque nationale "Petites Cités de Caractère", tourné en septembre 2015 à l'occasion du lancement du site internet www.petitescitesdecaractere.com, par Françoise Gatel, Présidente de l'Association nationale Petites Cités de Caractère France.