French Dutch English German Spanish

Patrick Tourneboeuf

Photographer invited to the Festival Planche (s) Contact in 2016

© Patrick Tourneboeuf for Board (s) Contact 2016
© Patrick Tourneboeuf for Board (s) Contact 2016

The interior journey from the room to the anteroom: Hôtel Barrière Le Normandy

Born in 1966 in Paris, Patrick Tourneboeuf is co-founder of the Tendance Floue collective, created in 1991.
He works in the meticulous observation of the banal, of its light imprints, practically intangible, erased by time. If his subjects of study are numerous, all are distinguished by their fine and thoughtful perception of the relationships that man maintains with his environment. In the 1990s, he carried out a study of common places in urban space, with the Périphérique and Nulle Part series. His photographic approach seeks to retrace the human presence on sites linked to history. Several series thus question our places of memories and the fixation of the stigmata of the past, including the series La Cicatrice, on the traces of the Berlin Wall and La Mémoire du Jour D, on the landing beaches. At the same time, Patrick Tourneboeuf responds to commissions from public institutions including the Grand Palais, the Palace of Versailles or the National Odéon theater.

In Deauville, as part of the Planche (s) Contact festival

In continuation of his series Monumental carried out on the sites of memory, Patrick Tourneboeuf was invited to Deauville for an immersion in the Normandy hotel.
Thanks to a systematic vision going beyond its simple documentary plasticity, Patrick Tourneboeuf delivers a singular and curious look at the most famous hotel in Deauville. He questions its present and past identity, through the prism of its recent renovation, but also linked to its sociological and historical changes. Thought as an inner quest, this work is less a pure documentary than a sensitive, almost carnal, approach to the memory of the establishment.

Patrick Tourneboeuf about his exhibition The interior journey from the room to the anteroom: Hôtel Barrière Le Normandy
"Here I am immersed in the liner Le Normandy, this monumental establishment stranded on the Normandy shore, marked by its history since 1912. 
It is an interior journey that is offered to me, a stay of contemplation where I let myself slip into the felted spirit of the intimacy of the spaces, passing from my bedroom to the anteroom, stigmatizing the obvious to grasp the 'ordinary. Which in my case means capturing the spirit of these places, like the wake left by the comings and goings of men, stealthily leaving traces. I venture into somewhat blurred regions where the thresholds between the public and the private seem to hesitate, where any stay can only be temporary. 

In this intimate closed space, I meet the beds unmade by temporary passengers in the early mornings, I wander behind the scenes for a few details of kitchen utensils, uniforms or linens at rest. I stubbornly observe the endless perspectives of the colored corridors echoing the passageways of the ship. 
Even the exits of chimneys on the roof send us back to the notion of cruise, as if we were sailing at night towards other horizons ... And the sea, the beach, the night which marks with an exclamation mark the last word of this story. I let myself go, without return.
"

My travel book

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Patrick Tourneboeuf

Photographe invité au Festival Planche(s) Contact en 2016

© Patrick Tourneboeuf pour Planche(s) Contact 2016
© Patrick Tourneboeuf pour Planche(s) Contact 2016

Le voyage intérieur de la chambre à l'antichambre : Hôtel Barrière Le Normandy

Né en 1966 à Paris, Patrick Tourneboeuf est co-fondateur du collectif Tendance Floue, créé en 1991.
Il travaille à l'observation méticuleuse du banal, de ses empreintes légères, pratiquement impalpables, gommées par le temps. Si ses sujets d’étude sont nombreux, tous se distinguent par leur perception fine et réfléchie des rapports qu’entretient l’homme avec son environnement. Il réalise dès les années 1990 une étude des lieux communs de l’espace urbain,  avec les séries Périphérique et Nulle Part. Sa démarche photographique cherche à retracer la présence humaine sur des sites en lien avec l'Histoire. Plusieurs séries s’interrogent ainsi sur nos lieux de mémoires et la fixation des stigmates du passé, dont la série La Cicatrice, sur les traces du mur de Berlin et La Mémoire du Jour J, sur les plages du débarquement. Patrick Tourneboeuf répond parallèlement à des commandes d’institutions publiques dont le Grand Palais, le Château de Versailles ou le théâtre national de l’Odéon.

À Deauville, dans le cadre du festival Planche(s) Contact

Dans la continuité de sa série Monumental réalisée sur les lieux de mémoire, Patrick Tourneboeuf a été invité à Deauville pour une immersion au sein de l’hôtel Normandy.
Grâce à une vision systématique dépassant par sa plasticité le simple documentaire, Patrick Tourneboeuf livre un regard singulier et curieux, sur le plus célèbre hôtel de Deauville. Il en interroge l’identité présente et passée, par le prisme de sa rénovation récente, mais en lien, aussi, avec ses mutations sociologiques et historiques. Pensé comme une quête intérieure, ce travail consiste moins en un pur documentaire qu’en une approche sensible, presque charnelle, de la mémoire de l’établissement.

Patrick Tourneboeuf à propos de son exposition Le voyage intérieur de la chambre à l'antichambre : Hôtel Barrière Le Normandy
"Me voici en immersion dans le paquebot Le Normandy, ce monumental établissement échoué sur le rivage normand, marqué par son histoire depuis 1912. 
C'est un voyage intérieur qui s'offre à moi, un séjour de contemplation où je me laisse glisser dans l'esprit feutré de l'intimité des espaces, passant de ma chambre à l'antichambre, stigmatisant l'évidence pour saisir l'ordinaire. Ce qui dans mon cas, signifie capter l'esprit de ces lieux, pareil au sillage que laissent les allées et venues des hommes, laissant furtivement des traces. Je m'aventure aux régions un peu floues où les seuils entre le public et le privé semblent hésiter, où tout séjour ne peut être que temporaire. 

Dans ce huit-clos intime, je rencontre aux petits matins les lits défaits par des passagers temporaires, je déambule dans l'envers du décor pour quelques détails d'ustensiles de cuisines, d'uniformes ou de linges au repos. Obstinément, j'observe les perspectives infinies des couloirs colorés en écho aux coursives du navire. 
Même les sorties de cheminées sur le toit nous renvoient à la notion de croisière, comme si nous voguions la nuit vers d'autres horizons... Et la mer, la plage, la nuit qui marque d'un point d'exclamation le dernier mot de cette histoire. Je me laisse aller, sans retour.
"