French Dutch English German Spanish

Valentin Tournet

Musician

Evolving in a musical environment since his birth in 1996, Valentin Tournet started viola da gamba at the age of five and quickly became passionate about this instrument. He obtained his 1st prize for viola da gamba and chamber music at the age of fourteen.

At the same time, he was part of the Children's Choir of the Paris National Opera, which allowed him to participate in numerous operas and concerts on prestigious stages (Bastille Opera, Champs-Élysées Theater, tour in Syria and in Jordan).

For several years, he perfected with Jérôme Hantaï, Emmanuelle Guigues and participated in the Académie de Sablé.

Subsequently, he went to Brussels to follow Philippe Pierlot's courses at the Koninklijk Conservatorium Brussel, then at the CNSM in Paris with Christophe Coin. He receives advice from Jordi Savall with whom he shares this common passion for the art of improvisation. Under the impulse of this abundant musical life, it occurs quite naturally, from its thirteen years, as a soloist during concerts, tours, festivals across Europe.

He made his solo debut at the MA Festival in Brugge and the Oude Muziek Festival in Utrecht.

His discovery of the orchestra during his years at the Opera led him to be passionate about the direction he learned under the teaching of Pierre Cao. He meets Philippe Herreweghe and follows his work within his ensembles.

In 2017, he founded La Chapelle Harmonique, which brought together a choir and an orchestra on period instruments. The first concerts took place at the Royal Chapel of the Palace of Versailles.

Artist in residence at the Singer-Polignac Foundation, he is supported by the Safran Foundation, the Meyer Foundation, Mécénat Musical Société Générale as well as the Porosus endowment fund.

My travel book

Valentin Tournet

Musicien

Évoluant dans un environnement musical depuis sa naissance en 1996, Valentin Tournet débute la viole de gambe à l’âge de cinq ans et se passionne rapidement pour cet instrument. Il obtient ses 1ers prix de viole de gambe et de musique de chambre à l’âge de quatorze ans.

Parallèlement, il a fait partie du Chœur d’enfants de l’Opéra National de Paris, ce qui lui a permis de participer à de nombreux opéras et concerts sur des scènes prestigieuses (Opéra Bastille, Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, tournée en Syrie et en Jordanie). 

Pendant plusieurs années, il se perfectionne auprès de Jérôme Hantaï, Emmanuelle Guigues et participe à l’Académie de Sablé. 

Par la suite, il se rend à Bruxelles pour suivre les cours de Philippe Pierlot au Koninklijk Conservatorium Brussel, puis au CNSM de Paris auprès de Christophe Coin. Il reçoit les conseils de Jordi Savall avec qui il partage cette passion commune pour l’art de l’improvisation. Sous l’impulsion de cette vie musicale foisonnante, il se produit tout naturellement, dès ses treize ans, en soliste lors de concerts, tournées, festivals à travers l’Europe. 

Il a fait ses débuts en soliste au MA Festival de Brugge et au Festival Oude Muziek d’Utrecht.

Sa découverte de l’orchestre lors de ses années à l’Opéra l’amène à se passionner pour la direction qu’il apprend sous l’enseignement de Pierre Cao. Il rencontre Philippe Herreweghe et suit son travail au sein de ses ensembles. 

En 2017, il fonde La Chapelle Harmonique qui réunit un chœur et un orchestre sur instruments d’époque. Les premiers concerts ont eu lieu à la Chapelle Royale du Château de Versailles. 

Artiste en résidence à la Fondation Singer-Polignac, il est soutenu par la Fondation Safran, la Fondation Meyer, Mécénat Musical Société Générale ainsi que le fonds de dotation Porosus.