LE SEA LAIS PARK : A GARDEN ALONG THE BEACH
After the Promenade des Planches, go behind the Michel d'Ornano promenade and stroll along the sea-lais, a vast four-hectare beachfront park that has become the preferred playground for swimmers, holidaymakers and sportspeople .

© Sandrine Boyer Angel
© City of Deauville
© Delphine Barré

You can relax on a bench, go for a walk, try your hand at jogging on your sports course or do exercises on your wooden equipment. You can enjoy the family playground for the little ones or for lovers. the "garden of hearts" to hang a padlock and perhaps exchange oaths, promises, desires or secrets ... We also meet with friends at the skatepark or on one of the two outdoor multisports fields.

Where do sea lice come from?
When Deauville was created, the beach was right at the foot of the casino. If the construction of jetties and port facilities had diverted the sea currents and favored sand deposits on the beach, the phenomenon accelerated during the winter of 1874-75, following a violent storm. It led to the formation of a shingle bank on the coast, then a valley which was gradually filled in, thus creating an area of ​​lais de mer. Over time, the private spaces were transformed into a garden, while the part town hall received sports and seaside facilities: tennis club in 1912, Pompeian baths and promenade des Planches in 1923, yacht club in 1929 (today "Le Point de Vue"), Olympic swimming pool in 1966, marinas in 1972, International Center from Deauville in 1992 ...

© Elizabeth Parker
© Sandrine Boyer Angel
© Delphine Barré

The sports route

Step by step

In the middle of the garden, hang a padlock on the heart catcher.

 

And maybe exchange oaths, promises, desires or secrets ...

The sea lice garden All practical information here
Close

Contact us:
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices:

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Residence of the Clock
Empress Eugenie wharf
14800 Deauville
See opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean-Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See opening hours

ANY TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Toques
See opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Louis Delamare Promenade
(behind the aid station)
14800 Tourgeville
See opening hours

Menu

LE PARC DES LAIS DE MER : UN JARDIN LE LONG DE LA PLAGE
Après la promenade des Planches, passez à l’arrière de la promenade Michel d’Ornano et baladez-vous sur les lais de mer, un vaste parc en bord de plage de quatre hectares devenu le terrain de jeu privilégié des baigneurs, vacanciers et sportifs.

© Sandrine Boyer Engel
© Ville de Deauville
© Delphine Barré

On peut s'y délasser sur un banc, faire une promenade, s'essayer le jogging sur son parcours sportif ou faire des exercices sur ses équipements en bois.On apprécie en famille l’aire de jeux pour les plus petits ou pour les amoureux le "jardin des coeurs" pour accrocher un cadenas et peut-être échanger des serments, promesses, envies ou secrets... On se retrouve aussi entre amis au skatepark ou sur l’un des deux terrains multisports en plein air.

D'où viennent les lais de mer ?
Lorsque Deauville est créée, la plage se trouve juste au pied du casino. Si la construction des jetées et des aménagements portuaires avaient dévié les courants marins et favorisé les dépôts de sable sur la plage, le phénomène s'accéléra au cours de l'hiver 1874-75, suite à une violente tempête. Elle entraîna sur le littoral la formation d'un banc de galets, puis d'une noue qui fut progressivement comblée, créant ainsi une zone de lais de mer.  Au fil du temps, les espaces privés furent aménagés en jardin, tandis que la partie communale reçut des équipements sportifs et balnéaires : club de tennis en 1912, bains pompéiens et promenade des Planches en 1923, yacht club en 1929 (aujourd'hui "Le Point de Vue"), piscine olympique en 1966,  marinas en 1972, Centre International de Deauville en 1992...

© Elizabeth Parker
© Sandrine Boyer Engel
© Delphine Barré

Le parcours sportif

Etape par étape

Au milieu du jardin, accrochez un cadenas sur l'accroche-coeur.

 

Et peut-être échangez des serments, des promesses, des envies ou des secrets...

Le jardin des lais de mer Toutes les informations pratiques ici