French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Choreographic residency in Deauville
photo exhibition

The city of Deauville is attached to the foundation of a cultural policy defined by a double will: transmission and support. The transmission of culture to a large audience, via exhibitions, gradually constituted collections, multiple mediations. Support for creation, with tools to support artists in their work, such as residences. "Culture for all" has a meaning in Deauville. The desire that presided over the birth of the Franciscan project comes first and foremost from this belief in the need to open culture in all its forms to the widest possible audience. A culture understood as much as the place of the most demanding creation - the visual arts, the performing arts, musical repertoires (classical, jazz, song), cinema, photography, literature… -, but also as the place of '' a shared experience, including about cultural practices considered less noble, associated with the art of living, which give full meaning to a real public space, inclusive and active.
To this desire to open up culture, to open up its borders, to desacralize its rites and dogmas, the Franciscan cultural project adjusts a transversal programming strategy: the three program directors think together, in real interaction, the exhibitions, and their extensions in spaces.
Les Franciscaines displays a broad ambition, which exceeds its artistic program: to become a place of life, that is to say a place where the visitor feels at home. In a space where easier access to knowledge and surprise is experienced as an intensification of life itself, where meeting with works of the mind, where frequenting visitors, significantly transform everyone.

What is the objective of the Franciscan project for the city of Deauville?
We want to give residents of Deauville and the region the opportunity to have access to cultural life on a permanent basis. Thanks to a museum, a media library and exhibition spaces, all housed in the building, you can be sure that something will always happen in Deauville. This cultural life will be open to all residents, but also to all those who, coming on weekends, have a second home on site. To meet this objective of broad access to works of the mind, we therefore wanted to create this permanent cultural place.
How does culture seem to you to be a central issue in any public, national, and local policy?
For me, culture is an essential element of life in society. For multiple reasons. It is a central element of education, a landmark in its own history but also of openness to other cultures. Understanding others through knowledge of their culture is essential. Besides education, it is a social glue, an element of sharing. And it is also a very strong element of attractiveness. We live in Deauville from the tourism economy: tourists want to have access to knowledge “products”. When they come to a territory, they want to know its history, the men and women who made this territory, to know what was created in this territory. It is important to make culture a key element of attractiveness.
The city already hosts many festivals.
What place will Franciscans occupy in this landscape of cultural festivities?
The essential aspect refers to this specificity of a place of permanent cultural life: at any time, we can go there to eat culturally, and to discover temporary exhibitions. This is the true specificity of Franciscans: being a lasting place compared to all existing festivals. The American Film Festival, created before I arrived, but also all the other festivals that we have created in recent years: two classical music festivals, a photo festival, a book festival. The year is punctuated with cultural events and the Franciscans will be the permanent place of cultural life.

My travel book

Menu

Résidence chorégraphique à Deauville
exposition photos

La ville de Deauville est attachée au socle d’une politique culturelle définie par une double volonté : la transmission et le soutien. La transmission de la culture à un vaste public, via des expositions, des collections progressivement constituées, des médiations multiples. Le soutien à la création, par des outils d’accompagnement des artistes dans leur travail, à l’image des résidences. La « culture pour tous » a un sens à Deauville. Le désir qui a présidé à la naissance du projet des Franciscaines procède d’abord et avant tout de cette croyance dans la nécessité d’ouvrir au plus large public possible la culture sous toutes ses formes. Une culture comprise autant comme le lieu de la création la plus exigeante – les arts plastiques, le spectacle vivant, les répertoires musicaux (classique, jazz, chanson), le cinéma, la photographie, la littérature… -, mais aussi comme le lieu d’une expérience partagée, y compris à propos de pratiques culturelles considérées comme moins nobles, associées à l’art de vivre, qui donnent tout son sens à un vrai espace public, inclusif et actif.
A cette volonté d’ouvrir la culture, de décloisonner ses frontières, de désacraliser ses rites et ses dogmes, le projet culturel des Franciscaines ajuste une stratégie de programmation transversale : les trois directeurs de programmation pensent ensemble, dans une vraie interaction, les expositions, et leurs prolongements dans les espaces.
Les Franciscaines affiche une ambition large, qui excède son programme artistique : devenir un lieu de vie, c’est à dire un lieu où le visiteur se sent comme chez lui. Dans un espace où l’accès facilité à la connaissance et à la surprise se vit comme une intensification de la vie elle-même, où la rencontre avec des œuvres de l’esprit, où la fréquentation de visiteurs, transforment sensiblement chacun.

A quel objectif répond le projet des Franciscaines pour la ville de Deauville ?
 
On veut donner la possibilité aux habitants de Deauville et de la région d’avoir accès à une vie culturelle de manière permanente. Grâce à un musée, à une médiathèque et à des lieux d’exposition, tous abrités dans le bâtiment, on peut être certain qu’il se passera toujours quelque chose à Deauville. Cette vie culturelle sera ouverte à tous les habitants, mais aussi à tous ceux qui, venant le week-end, ont une résidence secondaire sur place. Pour satisfaire cet objectif d’un large accès aux œuvres de l’esprit, on a donc voulu créer ce lieu culturel permanent.
 
En quoi la culture vous semble-t-elle un enjeu central de toute politique publique, nationale, et locale ?
 
Pour moi, la culture est un élément essentiel de la vie en société. Pour des raisons multiples. C’est un élément central de l’éducation, de repère dans sa propre histoire mais aussi d’ouverture sur les autres cultures. Comprendre les autres à travers la connaissance de leur culture, c’est primordial. Outre l’éducation, c’est un ciment social, un élément de partage. Et c’est aussi un élément d’attractivité très fort. Nous vivons à Deauville de l’économie touristique : les touristes ont envie d’avoir accès à des « produits » du savoir. Quand ils viennent sur un territoire, ils veulent connaître son histoire, les hommes et les femmes qui ont fait ce territoire,  connaître ce qui a été créé dans ce territoire. Il est important de faire de la culture un élément clé d’attractivité.
La ville accueille déjà de nombreux festivals.
 
Quelle place occuperont les Franciscaines dans ce paysage des festivités culturelles ?
 
L’aspect essentiel renvoie à cette spécificité d’un lieu de vie culturelle permanente : à tout moment, on pourra y aller pour se nourrir culturellement, et pour découvrir des expositions temporaires. C’est la vraie spécificité des Franciscaines : être un lieu pérenne par rapport à tous les festivals existants. Le Festival du cinéma américain, créé avant que j’arrive, mais aussi tous les autres festivals que nous avons créés ces dernières années : deux festivals de musique classique, un festival de photo, un festival du livre. L’année est ponctuée d’événements culturels et les Franciscaines seront le lieu permanent de la vie culturelle.