6500M2 OFHISTORY IN DEAUVILLE
Les Franciscaines Sisters' site is located in Deauville, 5 minutes from the sea and 10 minutes from the Place de la Mairie de Deauville by foot, on the Avenue de la République. Since its construction in 1876, it has fulfilled multiple missions: orphanage, school, hospital, and home to Les Franciscaines Sisters' congregation. In 2012, they chose to sell these buildings to the City of Deauville so that it could establish a place of life and transmission. They now live nearby.

Saint Joseph Orphanage - South Side® A. Basley
Crib and Children - FranciscansYves Aublet
Franciscan SistersFrançois Louchet

Les Franciscaines are rooted in a site that is part of the memory of the people of Deauville. In the past, this place was dedicated to welcoming and educating people. Today, through its cultural project, it pursues its missions of mediation and transmission. This is the City's choice: to reinvest the heritage complex with a new life rather than build a new facility. 

The place is organized around the Saint-Joseph building (1876) originally composed of classrooms and dormitories on the second floor.
To the right of the Saint-Joseph building are the conventual spaces reserved for the life of Les Franciscaines sisters: a chapel, a square garden surrounded by a cloister and common rooms (refectory, kitchen, library...). On the first floor, the rooms of the sisters where the universes are installed today.
On the left of the Saint Joseph building, a wing in return of angle, forming a square court at the back, now room of the temporary exhibitions.

François Louchet

Reception and transmission

1875 > 1881
 
Three sisters from the Somme region and from a pious family, ADELE, JOSEPHINE AND MARIE-ANTOINETTE MERIGAULT decided to invest in charitable works by founding a hospital for sailors and helping the children of sailors who had disappeared at sea. Unable to find the necessary land in Trouville - where they lived until the death of their father, a customs officer - they opted in 1875 for Deauville, which at the time had a lot of free land on either side of the church.
They built the first building - the Saint Joseph building - and then transformed their project into an orphanage for the daughters of sailors.
After several refusals from religious communities to take care of the children, Les Franciscaines nuns of Notre-Dame de Pitié of Perrou (Orne) accepted the proposal. Four sisters arrived in Deauville on June 29, 1878 with little money. In 1881, they founded the COMMUNITY OF FRANCISCAINS OF OUR LADY OF PITY in Deauville.
The community took care of orphans, provided care for the sick and received donations.
New buildings were constructed in 1883 and 1897 with the help of the Biesta-Monrival family.
 
 
1914 > 1919
 
In 1914, the orphanage was transformed into an auxiliary hospital. The Red Cross and donations completed the equipment. After having treated more than a thousand wounded, it closed on January 1, 1919 and returned to its function as an orphanage. With the surplus medical equipment belonging to the Red Cross, the local committee decided to found a dispensary.

 

 

 

YEARS 30

At the beginning of the 30s, the construction of the SAINT FRANCOIS CLINIC was decided. This work was entrusted to the Caen architect PICHEREAU, to whom we owe the construction of the Villa Strassburger. A SCHOOL FOR CHILDREN was founded in 1938 for young girls from the area.
 

1954

After the war, the Sisters decided to strengthen the professional education in the social and health sectors. A building was constructed for this purpose in 1954.
 

70'S

In 1971, the SAINT-JOSEPH PROFESSIONAL HIGH SCHOOL became a private high school under contract with the State. Today, the establishment includes a high school and a college. The clinic was replaced by the polyclinic in 1973. It was then transformed into a rehabilitation center. An extension was built in 1977 including a swimming pool, adapted showers, occupational therapy and physiotherapy services. At the same time, the orphanage received less and less children of sailors who had been lost at sea. We now welcome children who have been disturbed by the separation from their parents.
 

2009

Les Franciscaines Sisters decided to reorganize their activities in more suitable and functional premises and to build a new convent, a vocational high school and a school for nurses. They dedicate the land near the polyclinic to the construction of a real estate program consisting of 52 rental units: La Villa Gabrielle. Finally, they propose to the City of Deauville to purchase three buildings with a surface area of 4,400m² on the condition that they preserve the spirit of the place, marked by transmission, education and sharing. The financial conditions of the sale put back on the agenda the project of a place of culture for the City, abandoned in 2009 in an economic crisis context.

Close

Contact us:
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices :

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
See opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See opening hours

TOUQUES TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
See opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Promenade Louis Delamare
(behind the first-aid post)
14800 Tourgéville
See opening hours

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

6500 M2 D'HISTOIRE À DEAUVILLE
Le site des Franciscaines est situé à Deauville à 5 minutes de la mer, à 10 minutes de la place de la Mairie de Deauville à pied, sur l’avenue de la République. Depuis sa construction en 1876, il a rempli de multiples missions :  orphelinat, école, hôpital, et lieu de vie de la congrégation des Sœurs Franciscaines. Elles ont choisi en 2012 de vendre ces bâtiments à la Ville de Deauville pour que celle-ci y installe un lieu de vie et de transmission. Elles résident désormais à proximité.

Orphelinat Saint-Joseph - Côté Sud® A. Basley
Crèche et enfants - Franciscaines© Yves Aublet
Les soeurs Franciscaines© François Louchet

Les Franciscaines sont enracinées dans un site qui fait partie de la mémoire des Deauvillais. Ce lieu consacré à l’accueil et à l’éducation par le passé poursuit aujourd'hui au travers de son projet culturel ses missions de médiation et de transmission. C’est le choix de la Ville : réinvestir l’ensemble patrimonial d’une vie nouvelle plutôt que construire un nouvel équipement. 

Le lieu est organisé autour du bâtiment Saint-Joseph (1876) composé à l’origine de salles de classes et dortoirs au premier étage.
A droite du bâtiment Saint-Joseph les espaces conventuels réservés à la vie des Franciscaines : une chapelle, un jardin carré ceinturé par un cloître et des salles communes ( réfectoire, cuisine, bibliothèque…). A l’étage, les chambres des soeurs où sont aujourd'hui installés les univers.
Sur la gauche du bâtiment Saint-Joseph une aile en retour d’équerre, formant une cour carrée à l’arrière, désormais salle des expositions temporaires.

© François Louchet

Accueil et transmission

1875 > 1881
 
Trois sœurs originaires de la Somme et issues d’une famille pieuse,  ADELE, JOSEPHINE ET MARIE-ANTOINETTE MERIGAULT décident de s’investir dans les œuvres de charité en fondant un hôpital pour les marins et en aidant les enfants de marins disparus en mer. Ne pouvant trouver le foncier nécessaire à Trouville – où elles ont vécu jusqu’à la mort de leur père douanier - elles optent en 1875 pour Deauville qui avait alors beaucoup de terrains libres de part et d’autre de l’église.
Elles construisent le premier bâtiment – le bâtiment Saint Joseph – puis transforment leur projet en orphelinat pour les filles de marins.
Après avoir essuyé plusieurs refus de communautés religieuses pour s’occuper des enfants, les religieuses franciscaines de Notre-Dame de Pitié de Perrou (Orne) acceptent la proposition. Quatre sœurs arrivent à Deauville le 29 juin 1878 avec peu de moyens. Elles fondent en 1881 la COMMUNAUTE DES FRANCISCAINES DE NOTRE-DAME DE LA PITIE DE DEAUVILLE.
La communauté s’occupe des orphelines, prodigue les soins aux malades et reçoit des dons.
De nouveaux bâtiments sont construits en 1883 puis 1897 notamment avec l’aide de la famille Biesta-Monrival.
 
 
1914 > 1919
 
En 1914, l’orphelinat est transformé en hôpital auxiliaire. La Croix-Rouge et des dons achèvent de l’équiper. Après avoir soigné plus de mille blessés, il ferme le 1er janvier 1919 et retrouve sa fonction d’orphelinat. Avec le surplus de matériel médical appartenant à la Croix-Rouge, le comité local décide de fonder un dispensaire.

 

 

 

ANNÉES 30

Au début des années 30, la construction de la CLINIQUE SAINT FRANCOIS est décidée. Ce travail est confié à l’architecte Caennais PICHEREAU, à qui l’on doit la construction de la Villa Strassburger. UNE ECOLE MENAGERE est fondée en 1938 pour des jeunes filles des environs.
 

1954

Après-guerre, les sœurs décident de renforcer l’enseignement professionnel dans les secteurs social et sanitaire. Un bâtiment est construit à cet effet en 1954.
 

ANNÉES 70

En 1971, LE LYCÉE PROFESSIONNEL SAINT-JOSEPH devient un lycée privé sous contrat avec l’Etat. Aujourd’hui, l’établissement regroupe UN COLLEGE ET UN LYCEE. La clinique est remplacée par la polyclinique en 1973. Elle est alors transformée en centre de rééducation. Une extension est bâtie en 1977 comprenant une piscine, des douches adaptées, des services d'ergothérapie et de kinésithérapie. Parallèlement, l’orphelinat reçoit de moins en moins d’enfants de marins péris en mer. On accueille désormais des enfants que la séparation de leurs parents a perturbés.
 

2009

Les sœurs Franciscaines font le choix de ré-organiser leurs activités dans des locaux plus adaptés et plus fonctionnels et de construire un nouveau couvent, un lycée professionnel et une école d’aide-soignante. Elles vouent les terrains à proximité de la polyclinique à la construction d’un programme immobilier composé de 52 logements en usufruit locatif : La Villa Gabrielle. Elles proposent enfin à la Ville de Deauville d’acheter trois bâtiments d’une surface de 4400m² à la condition de préserver l’esprit des lieux marqués par la transmission, l’éducation, le partage. Les conditions financières de la vente remettent à l’ordre du jour le projet d’un lieu de culture pour la Ville, abandonné en 2009 dans un contexte économique de crise.