Philippe Valensi

sculptor

Naïade Plante
Naïade Plante

On September 5, 2020, the double sculpture X Y - an original work created by Philippe Valensi - was installed on the Place Reynaldo Hahn, a few meters from the Place Claude Lelouch where the story of "A Man and a Woman" began more than fifty years ago. This tumultuous love story, whose romanticism has never ceased to captivate Deauville, led the sculptor to imagine this symbol for Deauville.


With this double sculpture, the echo of the film inscribed in everyone's imagination takes shape and form. For Philippe Valensi, X Y embodies a part of Deauville's genome and forever installs the mythical romance between Jean Louis Duroc and Anne Gauthier in the town that served as its setting.
 

X Y is also the first step in a journey of works of art that will lead from the beach to the Franciscaines, the future place of life, culture and inspiration of Deauville.

In 2015, Philippe Valensi, a doctor in Deauville, sculptor and film lover, reread Elisabeth Badinter's book X Y. This essay, which deals with the difficulty and complexity of being a man, touches him by the accuracy of its words. He then wonders about the symbol of the X and Y chromosomes. He drew them, then specified them in order to realize a double sculpture of "humanized chromosomes" intended for Deauville, where each one projects its own romance since 1966.
The work is designed and then melted in Jaipur, India. A 0.90 m high sculpture is exhibited at the Grange aux dîmes and at the Saint Pierre de Touques church since 2016. It is also exhibited in Paris, at the Kinor Gallery.

Philippe Valensi
Born in Paris in 1952, Philippe Valensi has been a physician and dermatologist since 1980. He has lived in Normandy since 1984, and settled in Deauville where he practices.
Passionate about the plastic arts, he trained in sculpture in France and Italy; he learned marble carving in Carrara and lost-wax casting in Jaipur, India. Earth, stone, plaster and resin are his favorite materials.
While pursuing a dual career as a doctor and sculptor, he has carried out numerous humanitarian actions in Africa and was President of the NGO "Dermatology Outside Borders".
His travels around the world, his humanitarian experiences and his life as a doctor have forged his imagination and his creativity. Conversely, his artistic training has given him a different perspective on his career as a doctor. He has exhibited in Boulogne sur Seine, Paris, Honfleur and Deauville.

A realization of the art foundry Bocquel

Located in Grainville-Ymauville in Normandy, the Bocquel art foundry was chosen to follow all the steps of creation of a monumental version of X Y. The company uses all its know-how to realize the ideas of artists such as César, for whom it created the famous Pouce, or Philippe Ramette.
The work was digitized in three dimensions allowing the enlargement of the original model from 0.90 m to 1.90 m in height. This enlargement was reproduced in resin to allow the realization of a sand casting. This process allows the artist to intervene and rework the mold several times before casting in bronze. The base was also designed by the Bocquel workshop
 

Close

Contact us:
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices :

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
See opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See opening hours

TOUQUES TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
See opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Promenade Louis Delamare
(behind the first-aid post)
14800 Tourgéville
See opening hours

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Philippe Valensi

sculpteur

Naïade Plante
Naïade Plante

Le 5 septembre 2020,  la double sculpture X Y - oeuvre originela créée par Philippe Valensi -  a été installée sur la Place Reynaldo Hahn à quelques mètres de la Place Claude Lelouch où a commencé il y a plus de cinquante ans le récit de « Un homme et une femme ». Cette histoire d’amour tumultueuse, dont le romantisme n’a jamais cessé d’envouter Deauville, a amené le sculpteur à imaginer ce symbole pour Deauville.


Avec cette double sculpture, l’écho du film inscrit dans l’imaginaire de tout un chacun prend corps et forme. X Y incarne, pour Philippe Valensi, une part du génome de Deauville et installe à jamais la mythique romance entre Jean Louis Duroc et Anne Gauthier dans la ville qui lui a servi de décor.
 

X Y est aussi la première étape d’un parcours d’oeuvres d’art qui mènera de la plage aux Franciscaines futur lieu de vie, de culture et d’inspiration de Deauville.

En 2015, Philippe Valensi, médecin à Deauville, sculpteur, cinéphile, relit le livre X Y d’Elisabeth Badinter. Cet essai, qui aborde la difficulté et la complexité d’être un homme, le touche par la justesse de ses propos. Il s’interroge alors sur le symbole des chromosomes X et Y. Il les dessine, puis les précise en vue de réaliser une double sculpture de « chromosomes humanisés » destinée à Deauville, où chacun projette sa propre romance depuis 1966.
L’oeuvre est conçue puis fondue à Jaïpur, en Inde. d’une hauteur de 0,90 m est exposée à la Grange aux dîmes et à l'église Saint Pierre de Touques dès 2016. Elle est également exposée à Paris, à la Kinor Gallery.

Philippe Valensi
Né à Paris en 1952, Philippe Valensi est médecin, dermatologue, depuis 1980. Il vit en Normandie depuis 1984, et s’installe à Deauville où il exerce.
Passionné par les arts plastiques, il se forme à la sculpture en France et en Italie ; il s’initie à la taille du marbre à Carrare et la fonte à cire perdue en Inde à Jaipur. La terre, la pierre, le plâtre et la résine sont ses matériaux de prédilection.
Menant de front une double carrière de médecin et de sculpteur, il a effectué de nombreuses actions humanitaires en Afrique et a été Président de l’ONG « Dermatologie hors frontières ».
Ses voyages à travers le monde, ses expériences humanitaires, sa vie de médecin ont forgé son imaginaire et sa créativité. A l’inverse, sa formation artistique lui a donné un autre regard sur sa carrière de médecin. Il a notamment exposé à Boulogne sur Seine, à Paris, à Honfleur et à Deauville.

Une réalisation de la fonderie d’art Bocquel

Située à Grainville-Ymauville en Normandie, la fonderie d’art Bocquel a été choisie afin de suivre toutes les étapes de création d’une version monumentale de X Y. L’entreprise met tout son savoir-faire en oeuvre pour réaliser les idées d’artistes comme César dont elle a réalisé le célèbre Pouce, ou Philippe Ramette.
L’oeuvre a été numérisée en trois dimensions permettant l’agrandissement du modèle original de 0, 90 m à 1,90 m de hauteur. Cet agrandissement a été reproduit en résine pour permettre la réalisation d’un moulage au sable. Ce procédé permet à l’artiste d’intervenir et de re-travailler à plusieurs reprises le moule avant la fonte en bronze. Le socle a également été conçu par l’atelier Bocquel