French Dutch English German Spanish

Volodia Van Keulen

Musician

He began studying the cello at the age of seven at the Conservatoire à Rayonnement Régional de Besançon in the class of Emmanuel Boulanger. He was admitted to the National Superior Conservatory of Music and Dance in Paris and joined the class of Roland Pidoux and Xavier Phillips. The same year, he was selected by Pieter Wispelwey to participate in his master-class with orchestra at the Beauvais International Cello Festival.

Volodia has already performed in many places, solo or with various formations, in particular at the Festival international de la Roque d'Anthéron, at the Maison de la Radio for the world premiere of Traveler without luggage by Francis Poulenc on France Musique, in the Grande Salle Pierre Boulez of the Philharmonie de Paris, at the Cité de la Musique in Paris, at the Folles jours de Nantes, at the Philharmonie de Xi'an during a tour in China with the 'Ensemble Messiaen, at the Imperial Museum of Petrópolis (Brazil), at the Théâtre du Châtelet, at the Concerts of the Improbable with Jean-François Zygel and François Salque, at the Périgord Noir Festival, at the Salle Poirel in Nancy, at the Kronberg Academy , at the Opéra Théâtre de Besançon, at the Matinale de France Musique, at the Cello Meetings of Bélaye, at the Folle Journée de Tokyo, at the Maladrerie Saint-Lazare (Beauvais), at the Easter Festival and at the Musical August de Deauville, at the Grange de Meslay, at the Rencontres musicales de Noyers-sur-Serein, at the Folle nuit de Grenoble with Claire Désert and Emmanuel Strosser, on the program "Plaisir du quartuor" by Stéphane Goldet on France Musique.

He shares his chamber music experience with musicians such as Roland Pidoux, Claire Désert, Hae-sun Kang, François Salque, Pierre Fouchenneret, Marc Coppey, Amaury Coeytaux, Bertrand Chamayou, Guillaume Vincent, Raphaël Sévère, David Petrlik, Théo Fouchenneret , Adrien Boisseau, Léa Hennino, Guillaume Bellom.

Currently in 3e graduate (doctorate) and graduated with a Master in cello in the class of Marc Coppey and Pauline Bartisol at the CNSMD in Paris, he follows the wise advice of Steven Isserlis, Garry Hoffman, Young Chang Cho, Peter Bruns, Christian Ivaldi, Boris Garlitsky, of the Trio Wanderer, Philippe Muller, Claire Désert.

In 2017, he won second prize at the International Competition of the Societa Umanitaria in Milan, and recorded a record for the Mirare label with his three comrades and friends from the Messiaen Ensemble, around a program composed of Short Studies by Thomas Adès and Quartet for the End of Time by Olivier Messiaen.

Volodia has been an artist in residence at the Singer-Polignac Foundation since 2014 and plays on a David Deroy cello produced in 2010 in Vannes.

It is supported by the Safran Foundation and the Société Générale Foundation.

Volodia Van Keulen

Musicien

Il entreprend l’étude du violoncelle à l’âge de sept ans au Conservatoire à Rayonnement Régional de Besançon dans la classe d'Emmanuel Boulanger. Il est admis au Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse de Paris et intègre la classe de Roland Pidoux et de Xavier Phillips. La même année, il est sélectionné par Pieter Wispelwey pour participer à sa master-class avec orchestre au Festival international de violoncelle de Beauvais.

Volodia s’est déjà produit dans de nombreux lieux, en solo ou avec diverses formations, notamment au Festival international de la Roque d'Anthéron, à la Maison de la Radio pour la création mondiale du Voyageur sans bagage de Francis Poulenc sur France Musique, dans la Grande Salle Pierre Boulez de la Philharmonie de Paris, à la Cité de la Musique de Paris, aux Folles journées de Nantes, à la Philharmonie de Xi'an lors d'une tournée en Chine avec l'Ensemble Messiaen, au Musée impérial de Petrópolis (Brésil), au Théâtre du Châtelet, aux  Concerts de l'improbable avec Jean-François Zygel et François Salque, au Festival du Périgord Noir, à la Salle Poirel de Nancy, à la Kronberg Academy, à l'Opéra Théâtre de Besançon, à la Matinale de France Musique, aux Rencontres de violoncelle de Bélaye, à la Folle journée de Tokyo, à la Maladrerie Saint-Lazare (Beauvais), au Festival de Pâques et à l'Août musical de Deauville, à la Grange de Meslay, aux Rencontres musicales de Noyers-sur-Serein, à la Folle nuit de Grenoble avec Claire Désert et Emmanuel Strosser, à l’émission « Plaisir du quatuor » de Stéphane Goldet sur France Musique.

Il partage son expérience de musique de chambre avec des musiciens tels que Roland Pidoux, Claire Désert, Hae-sun Kang, François Salque, Pierre Fouchenneret, Marc Coppey, Amaury Coeytaux, Bertrand Chamayou, Guillaume Vincent, Raphaël Sévère, David Petrlik, Théo Fouchenneret, Adrien Boisseau, Léa Hennino, Guillaume Bellom.

Actuellement en 3e cycle supérieur (doctorat) et diplômé d'un Master de violoncelle dans la classe de Marc Coppey et Pauline Bartisol au CNSMD de Paris, il suit les conseils avisés de Steven Isserlis, Garry Hoffman, Young Chang Cho, Peter Bruns, Christian Ivaldi, Boris Garlitsky, du Trio Wanderer, Philippe Muller, Claire Désert.

En 2017, il obtient le deuxième prix au Concours international de la Societa Umanitaria de Milan, et enregistre un disque pour le label Mirare avec ses trois camarades et amis de l’Ensemble Messiaen, autour d’un programme composé de Court Studies de Thomas Adès et du Quatuor pour la Fin du Temps d’Olivier Messiaen.

Volodia est artiste en résidence à la Fondation Singer-Polignac depuis 2014 et joue sur un violoncelle de David Deroy réalisé en 2010 à Vannes.

Il est soutenu par la Fondation Safran, et la Fondation Société Générale.