Paolo verzone

Photographer invited to the Festival Planche (s) Contact in 2016

© Paolo Verzone for Contact Board (s) 2016
© Paolo Verzone for Contact Board (s) 2016

Sea workers

Born in 1967 in Turin and living in Paris, Paolo Verzone has been a member of Agence VU 'since 2003.
For 30 years, he has photographed the populations around him, with rigor and eclecticism. His photographic practice has gone from press orders to personal documentaries. His photographs strive to reflect the multiplicity and uniqueness of each individual.
After having photographed the bathers of the Mediterranean shores in his Seeuropeans series, Paolo Verzone published in 2014 his book Cadets, grouping portraits of students of military schools in Europe.
Paolo Verzone received the World Press Photo in 2000, 2009 and 2015. His photographs have integrated several collections including those of the Victoria and Albert Museum, the National Library of France and the Instituto Nazionale della Grafica in Rome.

In Deauville as part of the Planche (s) Contact festival

Paolo Verzone develops photographic series that question our society and the representation of its leisure time. He produces strict portraits that are part of a documentary tradition. For Planche (s) Contact 2016, Paolo Verzone returned to Deauville, which he already knew, to meet those he calls The Workers of the Sea. An inventory, individual portraits or in small groups , to reveal the diversity of professions linked to the sea and the beach of Deauville. From the fisherman to the ice cream seller, from the captain of the marina to the parasol rental company… A diversity of trades and individualities reflected in their truths and their singularities.

Paolo Verzone about his exhibition Sea workers
"From my first visit to Deauville, I discovered a city that works almost perfectly. As a watch works day after day with precision and regularity without anyone knowing its subtle cogs, Deauville seems to be advancing in this way: a well "oiled" mechanism.
Of course, nothing would be like this without the momentum, the energy and the will of the people who live and work there. Deauville, seaside resort, holiday resort, weekend destination: a large part of its activities are organized around the sea from June to September.
Port workers, lifeguards at sea, lifeguards, shops of all kinds of bathing equipment (from balloon to fishing rod to swimwear), beach preparation (installation of deckchairs, parasols), restaurants beach, cooks, waiters ...

I chose to photograph these men and women who during the summer season participate in the "success" of the season. With their complicity, I fixed a moment of their activity, without interrupting the regular movement, a short suspended moment. 
I would like to warmly thank all the people who gave me a little of their time to capture a moment of their life, the time of a season in Deauville.
"

Close

Contact us:
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices:

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Residence of the Clock
Empress Eugenie wharf
14800 Deauville
See opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean-Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See opening hours

ANY TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Toques
See opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Louis Delamare Promenade
(behind the aid station)
14800 Tourgeville
See opening hours

Paolo Verzone

Photographe invité au Festival Planche(s) Contact en 2016

© Paolo Verzone pour Planche(s) Contact 2016
© Paolo Verzone pour Planche(s) Contact 2016

Les travailleurs de la Mer

Né en 1967 à Turin et vivant à Paris, Paolo Verzone est membre de l’Agence VU’ depuis 2003.
Depuis 30 ans, il photographie les populations qui l’entourent, avec rigueur et éclectisme. Sa pratique photographique est passée de la commande presse au documentaire personnel. Ses photographies s’attachent à refléter la multiplicité et la singularité de chaque individu.
Après avoir photographié les baigneurs des rivages méditerranéens dans sa série Seeuropeans, Paolo Verzone publie en 2014 son livre Cadets, regroupant des portraits d’étudiants d’écoles militaires en Europe.
Paolo Verzone a reçu le World Press Photo en 2000, 2009 et 2015. Ses photographies ont intégré plusieurs collections dont celles du Victoria et Albert Museum, de la bibliothèque Nationale de France et de l’Instituto Nazionale della Grafica à Rome.

A Deauville dans le cadre du festival Planche(s) Contact

Paolo Verzone développe des séries photographiques qui interrogent notre société et la représentation de ses loisirs. Il réalise des portraits stricts et inscrits dans une tradition documentaire.  Pour Planche(s) Contact 2016, Paolo Verzone est revenu à Deauville, qu’il connaissait déjà, pour aller à la rencontre de ceux qu’il appelle Les travailleurs de la Mer. Un état des lieux, des portraits individuels ou par petits groupes, pour révéler la diversité des métiers en lien avec la mer et la plage de Deauville. Du pêcheur au marchand de glace, du capitaine du port de plaisance au loueur de parasol… Une diversité de métiers et d’individualités restitués dans leurs vérités et leurs singularités.

Paolo Verzone à propos de son exposition Les travailleurs de la Mer
"Dès ma première visite à Deauville, j'ai découvert une ville au fonctionnement presque parfait. Comme une montre fonctionne jour après jour avec précision et régularité sans que l'on en connaisse les rouages subtils, Deauville semble avancer de la sorte : une mécanique bien "huilée".
Bien sûr, rien ne serait ainsi sans l'élan, l'énergie et la volonté des gens qui y vivent et y travaillent. Deauville, station balnéaire, lieu de villégiature, destination de week-end : une grande partie de ses activités s'organise autour de la mer de juin à septembre.
Travailleurs du port, sauveteurs en mer, surveillants de baignade, boutiques de matériel balnéaire en tous genres (du ballon à la canne à pêche en passant par les maillots de bain), préparation des plages (installation des transats, des parasols), restaurants de plage, cuisiniers, serveurs...

J'ai choisi de photographier ces hommes et ces femmes qui durant la saison estivale participent à la "réussite" de la saison. Avec leur complicité, j'ai fixé un moment de leur activité, sans en interrompre le mouvement régulier, un court moment suspendu. 
Je tiens à remercier chaleureusement toutes les personnes qui m'ont donné un peu de leur temps pour saisir un instant de leur vie, le temps d'une saison à Deauville.
"