French Dutch English German Spanish

Celine Villegas

Photographer invited to the Planche (s) Contact festival in 2017

We have to come back © Céline Villegas, for Planche (s) Contact 2017, Deauville
We have to come back © Céline Villegas, for Planche (s) Contact 2017, Deauville

We have to come back

Celine Villegas is a Franco-Chilean photographer born in Lyon in 1981 and a graduate in political science. Self-taught, she lives and works in Paris and has devoted herself to photography since 2013. She takes a unique look at reality and works in particular on portraits of territories linked to the seaside. In these urban environments, she cuts scenes imbued with poetry, abandoned body fragments, most often relying on the contrast of colors to arouse the imagination.
Her work has been presented in personal exhibitions in Lebanon, Argentina and Morocco and during the 2016 edition of the Festival of Young European Photography (Circulation (s)) in Paris. She is one of the winners of the artistic residencies of the French Institute in Morocco 2017 and worked on a documentary project around the world of synchronized swimming in France.

Stéphane Beaujean, art critic and artistic director of the Angoulême Comics Festival, about Céline Villegas' exhibition, We have to come back :
"Céline Villegas surveys cities and more particularly seaside areas around the world in search of patterns that allow her to nourish her imagination. In these decorations dedicated to leisure, it does not isolate or focus on the subjects that relax there. On the contrary, it reappropriates, through a clever cutting work, the life of these environments. His deliberately framed images, cutting through the backgrounds and bodies, his compositions playing on straight lines, chromatic overlays, solid and empty, transform these landscapes into a gallery of "motifs" which many of us would not have had access, without the work of reconstructing his gaze. The suspension, the contrast of colors like that of social classes, the imagination of the cinema, thus nourish this portrait of Deauville, where the beach appears both as a very moving popular utopia and a world inhabited by a mythology with almost obsolete prestige . This series of paintings, as plastic and personal as it is, gives birth to symbols and allegories which translate as many truths about our world as any series of portraits of isolated subjects, or captured frontally. Above all, she never laughs at this little beach world. Even if some of his images are not without humor, his gaze perpetually overflows with empathy."

My travel book

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Céline Villegas

Photographe invitée au festival Planche(s) Contact en 2017

Il nous faut revenir ©Céline Villegas, pour Planche(s) Contact 2017, Deauville
Il nous faut revenir ©Céline Villegas, pour Planche(s) Contact 2017, Deauville

Il nous faut revenir

Céline Villegas est une photographe franco-chilienne née à Lyon en 1981 et diplômée de sciences politiques. Autodidacte, elle vit et travaille à Paris et se consacre à la photographie depuis 2013. Elle pose un regard singulier sur le réel et travaille en particulier sur des portraits de territoires en lien avec le balnéaire. Elle découpe dans ces environnements urbains des scènes empreintes de poésie, des fragments de corps à l’abandon, s’appuyant le plus souvent sur le contraste des couleurs pour susciter l’imaginaire.
Son travail a été présenté lors d’expositions personnelles au Liban, en Argentine ou Maroc et lors de l'édition 2016 du Festival de la jeune photographie européenne (Circulation(s)) à Paris. Elle figure parmi les lauréats des résidences artistiques de l'Institut français du Maroc 2017 et a travaillé sur un projet documentaire autour de l'univers de la natation synchronisée en France.

Stéphane Beaujean, critique d'art et directeur artistique du Festival de la BD d'Angoulême, à propos de l'exposition de Céline Villegas, Il nous faut revenir
"Céline Villegas arpente les villes et plus particulièrement les espaces balnéaires du monde entier à la recherche des motifs qui lui permettent de nourrir son imaginaire. Dans ces décors dédiés au loisir, elle n'isole pas, ni ne focalise, sur les sujets qui s'y délassent. Au contraire, elle se réapproprie, par un savant travail de découpage, la vie de ces environnements. Ses images volontairement décadrées, tranchant dans les décors et les corps, ses compositions jouant sur les lignes droites, les superpositions chromatiques, les pleins et les vides, transforment ces paysages en une galerie de "motifs" auxquels nombre d'entre nous n'auraient eu accès, sans le travail de reconstruction de son regard. La suspension, le contraste des couleurs comme celui des classes sociales, l'imaginaire du cinéma, nourrissent ainsi ce portrait de Deauville, où la plage apparait à la fois comme une utopie populaire très émouvante et un monde habité par une mythologie au prestige presque désuet. Cette suite de tableaux, aussi plastique et personnelle soit-elle, accouche en effet des symboles et d'allégories qui traduisent autant de vérités sur notre monde quel n'importe quelle suite de portraits de sujets isolés, ou saisis frontalement. Surtout, elle ne se moque jamais de ce petit monde de la plage. Même si certaines de ses images ne sont pas sans humour, son regard déborde perpétuellement d'empathie."