Visit Villers-sur-Mer - The green dinosaur

Place Jean Mermoz

14640 VILLERS-SUR-MER

Every year, a giant green dinosaur is installed in the heart of the city in the gardens in front of the Tourist Information Office, in reference to the cliffs Falaises des Vaches Noires, a paleontological site of great scientific renown where the fossils of a 10-meter long pliosaur, an ichthyosaur, a marine "crocodile", but also ammonites, sea urchins, and sponges have been discovered.
This green dinosaur has become over the years a real emblem of the station. The 12 m long and 7 m high colossus is made of an iron frame filled with 6 tons of earth where 9,000 plants grow: 7,000 green pyrethes for the top of the body and 2,000 alternantheras or rubras for the bottom.
It is put in place in June, so that these plants grow sufficiently, by the city's green spaces department, which removes it in November. Its return and installation gives rise to a much-anticipated celebration that announces the beginning of summer!
It should be noted that for some time now, the dinosaur daddy has been accompanied by his little one. A real landmark in the resort, he is admired by visitors who have made him their main target for their souvenir photos.

See also

Close

Contact us:
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices :

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
See opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See opening hours

TOUQUES TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
See opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Promenade Louis Delamare
(behind the first-aid post)
14800 Tourgéville
See opening hours

Visite de Villers-sur-Mer - Le dinosaure de verdure

Place Jean Mermoz

14640 VILLERS-SUR-MER

Chaque année, un dinosaure de verdure géant est installé au cœur de la ville dans les jardins face au Bureau d'information touristique, en référence aux falaises des Vaches Noires, un gisement paléontologique de grande renommée scientifique où l'on a découvert les fossiles d’un pliosaures de 10 mètres de long, d’un ichtyosaure, un « crocodiles » marins, mais aussi des ammonites, des oursins et des éponges.
Ce dinosaure vert est devenu au fil des ans un véritable emblème de la station. Le colosse de 12 m de long et de 7 m de haut, est constitué d’une armature de fer remplie de 6 tonnes de terre où poussent 9.000 plantes : 7 000 pyrethes vertes pour le dessus du corps et 2 000 alternantheras ou rubras pour le dessous.
Il est mis en place au mois de juin, afin que ces plants poussent suffisamment, par le service espaces verts de la ville, qui le retire en novembre. Son retour et son installation donne lieu à une fête très attendue qui annonce le début de l’été !
Il est à noter que depuis quelque temps, le papa dinosaure est accompagné de son petit. Véritable repère dans la station, il fait l’admiration des visiteurs qui en ont fait leur cible principale pour leurs photos souvenirs.

Voir aussi

Fermer

Nous contacter :
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Nos bureaux d’information touristique :

DEAUVILLE TOURISME
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISME
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISME
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERVILLE TOURISME
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOUQUES TOURISME
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISME
Promenade Louis Delamare
(derrière le poste de secours)
14800 Tourgéville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture