French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Visit of Villerville - Notre-Dame de l'Asomption church

Church Street

14113 VILLERVILLE

Built after the Castle, the first church in Villerville dates from the 2th century, of which today the massive bell tower, the slatted roof (sloped roof) still exist; and the building choir, in pure Romanesque style. This first building was enlarged in 1871 with two new chapels and the sacristy. New enlargement works occurred in 1900, giving it its particular and unique current form.
The church houses beautiful statues from the XNUMXth and XNUMXth centuries and a wooden statue of the local Patron Saint Saint-Roch, who, according to legend, treated patients suffering from the plague, a particularly virulent disease at the time, before contracting him. - even this disease, this is why we see him regularly represented with his dog licking his wounds.
It also houses the relics of the local martyr Thomas Jean Montsaint, priest martyr executed on September 2, 1792 at the Abbey of Saint Germain des Prés, for having, during the Terror, refused to take the oath to the Republic (which meant no longer recognizing the authority of the pope). To salute his courage and his faith, he was beatified by Pius XI in 1926. A commemorative plaque sealed in the bell tower of the church recalls his sacrifice and his name was attributed to the first part of "bout du haut".

The church of Villerville also experienced its hour of musical glory. Indeed Gabriel Fauré composed the "Mass of Fishermen of Villerville" which will be performed in the church a first time, without instrument in September 1, then a second time in September 1881.

eglisevillerville Mr. Le Guillard

My travel book

Visite de Villerville - L'église Notre-Dame de l'Asomption

Rue de l'église

14113 VILLERVILLE

Construite après le Château, la première église de Villerville date du XIIe siècle dont subsistent aujourd'hui le clocher massif, le toit en batière (toit à 2 pans inclinés) ; et le choeur de d'édifice, en pur style roman. Ce premier édifice est agrandi en 1871 avec deux nouvelles chapelles et la sacristie. De nouveaux travaux d'agrandissement surviennent en 1900, lui donnant sa forme actuelle particulière et unique.
L'église héberge de belles statues des XVe et XIXe siècles et une statue en bois du Saint Patron local Saint-Roch, qui, selon la légende soigna les malades atteints de la peste, maladie particulièrement virulente à l'époque, avant de contracter lui-même cette maladie, c'est pourquoi on le voit régulièrement représenté avec son chien léchant ses plaies.
Elle abrite aussi les reliques du martyr local Thomas Jean Montsaint, prêtre martyr exécuté le 2 septembre 1792 à l'abbaye de Saint Germain des Prés, pour avoir, pendant la Terreur, refusé de prêter serment à la République (ce qui signifiait ne plus reconnaître l’autorité du pape). Pour saluer son courage et sa foi, il fut béatifié par Pie XI en 1926. Une plaque commémorative scellée dans la tour du clocher de l'église rappelle son sacrifice et on attribua son nom à la première partie de « bout du haut ».

L’église de Villerville a aussi connu son heure de gloire musicale. En effet Gabriel Fauré composa la "Messe des Pêcheurs de Villerville" qui sera exécutée dans l'église une 1ère fois, sans instrument en septembre 1881, puis une seconde fois en septembre 1882.

eglisevillerville800x600 M. Le Guillard