French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Backstage tour of a horse sale

At the Salle Elie de Brignac

Take advantage of a unique visit to discover the closed world of horse sales! Accompanied by a guide, go behind the scenes of a sale during which, by retracing the history of the auctions in Deauville, you will follow the journey of a buyer, from the inspection of the horses in the yards to the passage in the ring.

Zuzanna Lupa

It all starts in the lessons, with the presentation of the sales catalog that the buyer consults to find the key information on the horses present: pedigrees, lines, performances and winners. The horses, taken out of their box, are inspected with a fine comb by the buyers before going towards the round of presentation. Here, visitors can discover the horses held in their hands and watch how they move.

The visit concludes in the auction room, a key stage in the auction, where everyone has a specific role. We discover the auctioneer, real conductor of the sale accompanied by the auctioneer, as well as the spotters, who, placed around the ring, are on the lookout for the slightest gesture of buyers to locate an offer.

ARQANA in a few words

Sandrine Boyer Engel

ARQANA organizes sales of horses in the two racing disciplines of galloping and trotting. They take place throughout the year in two sales establishments, the Elie de Brignac establishment in Deauville and the Manège Boussac of the Saint-Cloud racecourse.

Deauville is the number one selling yearling site in France and the second on the European market! The Elie de Brignac establishment hosts three sales dedicated to yearlings (horses under 2 years of age), two to training horses and horses "ready to run", three to breeding and mixed sales and three sales of trotters. Among these sales, the August Yearling Sale dedicated to English thoroughbreds is the most prestigious. It attracts professionals from around the world.

Useful information

Price: 10 € per person

    Visit not accessible to people with reduced mobility for security reasons. Dogs and strollers are prohibited on the site.


    Duration of the visit: 30 minutes

    For more information, contact Arqana on 02 31 81 81 00.

    Login

    ARQANA
    Elie de Brignac room
    32 Avenue Hocquart de Turtot
    14800 Deauville

    -

    My travel book

Menu

Visite des coulisses d'une vente de chevaux

A la salle Elie de Brignac

Profitez d'une visite unique pour découvrir le monde fermé des ventes de chevaux ! Accompagnés d’un guide, visitez les coulisses d’une vente au cours de laquelle, en retraçant l’histoire des enchères à Deauville, vous suivrez le parcours d’un acheteur, de l’inspection des chevaux dans les cours jusqu’au passage sur le ring.

Zuzanna Lupa

Tout commence dans les cours, avec la présentation du catalogue des ventes que l’acheteur consulte pour trouver les informations capitales sur les chevaux présents : pedigrees, lignées, performances et palmarès. Les chevaux, sortis de leur box, sont inspectés au peigne fin par les acheteurs avant de se diriger vers le rond de présentation. Ici, les visiteurs peuvent découvrir les chevaux tenus en main et regarder leur façon de se déplacer.

La visite se conclut dans la salle des ventes, étape clé des enchères, où chacun a un rôle bien précis. On y découvre l’auctioneer, véritable chef d’orchestre de la vente accompagné du commissaire-priseur, ainsi que les spotters, qui, placés autour du ring, sont à l’affût du moindre geste des acheteurs pour repérer une offre.

ARQANA en quelques mots

Sandrine Boyer Engel

ARQANA organise des ventes de chevaux dans les deux disciplines des courses que sont le galop et le trot. Elles ont lieu tout au long de l'année au sein de deux établissements de ventes, l'établissement Elie de Brignac à Deauville et le Manège Boussac de l'hippodrome de Saint-Cloud.

Deauville est la première place de vente de yearlings en France et la deuxième sur le marché européen ! L'établissement Elie de Brignac accueille trois ventes consacrées aux yearlings (chevaux de moins de 2 ans), deux aux chevaux à l’entraînement et chevaux « prêts à courir », trois aux ventes d’élevage et mixte et trois ventes de trotteurs. Parmi ces ventes, la Vente de Yearlings du mois d'août dédiée aux pur-sang anglais est la plus prestigieuse. Elle attire les professionnels du monde entier.

Informations pratiques

Tarifs : 10€ par personne

    ates : le mercredi 1e juillet et le mardi 18 août
    Départ à 15h.

    Visite non accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite pour des raisons de sécurité. Les chiens et les poussettes sont interdits sur le site.


    Durée de la visite : 30 minutes

    Pour plus d'informations, contactez Arqana au 02 31 81 81 00.

    Accès

    ARQANA 
    Salle Elie de Brignac
    32 Avenue Hocquart de Turtot
    14800 Deauville

    02 31 81 81 00