French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Guided tour of Haras d'Ecajeul and tasting

Jean-Luc and Isabelle Bara, owners of Haras d'Ecajeul, organize guided tours at the heart of their facilities. For 1 hour 15 minutes, Jean-Luc guides visitors through the stables, the meadow and the loin round before joining Isabelle and her 100% homemade pastries.

Leo Lemasson

It all starts in the courtyard, with a presentation of the Pays d'Auge and the quality of its terroir for breeding. Jean-Luc accesses the boxes to take out the horses and explain the morphology of the equines: proportion of muscles, solid forearms and short barrel. Anecdote: two champions were accommodated there, Powerful Chef, which won the prestigious Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe and Wordpam, winner of the Grand Prix de Deauville. During the visit, take a look above the boxes: two plaques with the name of each champion are hung with pride.

During the visit, Jean-Luc details the entire life cycle of the horse (mating, birth in spring, training, races), as well as the levels of races, the distances on the racetracks, the circuit world, endowments, jockeys material and registration books.

Leo Lemasson

But what calls out the most is the original and famous method used by Jean-Luc for cleaning: the method of whisperers, revealed in the film " The man who whispered in the ears of horses ", Consisting in better understanding the behavior of the horse and to establish a natural relationship with him, without constraint or violence. Obvious for Jean-Luc who, from the popularization of whisperers in the 2000s, applied this method of gentle riding.

The visit ends with a snack concocted by Isabelle. To be enjoyed by the fireplace in winter, or in the garden with a view of the horses in summer. "We receive as we live", this is Isabelle's leitmotif.

Enlarge
Leo Lemasson
Leo Lemasson
Leo Lemasson
Leo Lemasson
Lower

Leo Lemasson

Leo Lemasson

Leo Lemasson

Leo Lemasson

Useful information

dates: saturday 22 august

Prices :

  • Adult: 12 €
  • Child (5 - 12 years old): 6 €
  • Free for less than 5 years

Duration of the visit: 1h15

Login

Haras d'Ecajeul is located on the departmental road D16, at the intersection opposite terminal 6.

Stud of Ecajeul
The Mesnil Mauger
14270 Mézidon Vallée d'Auge
+06 07 25 47 23 XNUMX

My travel book

Menu

Visite guidée du Haras d'Ecajeul et dégustation

Jean-Luc et Isabelle Bara, propriétaires du Haras d'Ecajeul, organisent des visites commentées au cœur de leurs installations. Pendant 1h15, Jean-Luc guide les visiteurs à travers les écuries, la prairie et le rond de longe avant de rejoindre Isabelle et ses pâtisseries 100% fait maison.

Léo Lemasson

Tout commence dans la cour, avec une présentation du Pays d’Auge et de la qualité de son terroir pour l'élevage. Jean-Luc accède aux boxes pour sortir les chevaux et expliquer la morphologie des équidés : proportion de muscles, avant-bras solides et canon court. Anecdote : deux champions y ont été hébergés, Puissant Chef, qui a remporté le prestigieux Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe et Wordpam, vainqueur du Grand Prix de Deauville. Lors de la visite, jetez un oeil au-dessus des boxes : deux plaques comportant le nom de chaque champion sont accrochées avec fierté.

Au cours de la visite, Jean-Luc détaille tout le cycle de vie du cheval (la saillie, la naissance au printemps, l’entraînement, les courses), de même que les niveaux de courses, les distances sur les hippodromes, le circuit mondial, les dotations, le matériel des jockeys et les livres d’inscriptions.

Léo Lemasson

Mais ce qui interpelle le plus, c’est la méthode originale et réputée utilisée par Jean-Luc pour le débourrage : la méthode des chuchoteurs, révélée dans le film « L’homme qui murmurait à l’oreille des chevaux », consistant à mieux comprendre le comportement du cheval et à nouer une relation naturelle avec lui, sans contrainte ni violence. Une évidence pour Jean-Luc qui, dès la popularisation des chuchoteurs dans les années 2000, applique cette méthode d'équitation douce.

La visite se termine par un collation concoctée par Isabelle. A déguster à côté d’un feu de cheminée en hiver, ou dans le jardin avec vue sur les chevaux en été. "On reçoit comme nous vivons", telle est la leitmotiv d'Isabelle.

Agrandir
Léo Lemasson
Léo Lemasson
Léo Lemasson
Léo Lemasson
Réduire

Léo Lemasson

Léo Lemasson

Léo Lemasson

Léo Lemasson

Informations pratiques

Tarifs :

  • Adulte : 12€
  • Enfant (5 - 12 ans) : 6€
  • Gratuit pour les moins de 5 ans

Durée de la visite : 1h15

Pour plus d'informations, contactez le Haras d'Ecajeul :

Accès

Le Haras d'Ecajeul est situé sur la route départementale D16, à l'intersection face à la borne 6.

Haras d'Ecajeul
Le Mesnil Mauger
14270 Mézidon Vallée d’Auge
06 07 25 47 23