French Dutch English German Spanish

Vincent Voillat

Artist

Le pas - print on fabric © Rebecca Fanuele
© Margot Montigny

Guest of the 2021 L'Appel du Large festival

Born in 1977 in Nantua (France), Vincent Voillat is a multidisciplinary contemporary artist who lives and works in Ivry-sur-Seine. Represented by the Galerie Éric Mouchet, he has been teaching as a sculpture professor at the TALM Art School of Design, Tours site, for 6 years. He has been collaborating since 2005 with Collectif Mu as scenographer and artistic director. He is planning certain events in their new location - La Station / Gare des mines in Aubervilliers, in residence in 2020. He is also a member of the Institut d'Esthétique (with Haily Grenet and Émile Degorce-Dumas) which was in residence at the Handling at the Palais de Tokyo and presented during the DO DISTURB International Performance Festival.

Vincent Voillat explores the links that operate between a territory (real or virtual), the flows that cross it, its inhabitants and their memories. He studies more particularly the relationship between the landscape and its perception. His approach is based on sampling: geological extractions of rocks, studies of strata, archaeological excavations or studies of plants ... He also borrows the materials of his works from popular culture: music, found objects, stories ... He detects in the landscape chosen for its interventions traces the bodies and reveals the imprint, the persistence and their impressions on the memory of the place. Through association, juxtaposition or reinterpretation, he reinvents a conceptual territory whose stories, writing and text make it possible to produce the links that unite these heterogeneous forms.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

As part of the L'Appel du Large festival which will take place from July 2 to 4, 2021, Vincent Voillat presents an installation. More information on L'Appel du Large here.

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Vincent Voillat

Artiste

Invité du festival L'Appel du Large 2021

Né en 1977 à Nantua (France), Vincent Voillat est un artiste contemporain pluridisciplinaire qui vit et travaille à Ivry-sur-Seine. Représenté par la Galerie Éric Mouchet, il enseigne comme professeur de sculpture à l’École Supérieure d’Art de de Design TALM, site de Tours, depuis 6 ans. Il collabore depuis 2005 avec le Collectif Mu en qualité de scénographe et de directeur artistique. Il programme certains événements dans leur nouveau lieu – La Station / Gare des mines à Aubervilliers, en résidence en 2020. Il est également membre de l’institut d’Esthétique (avec Haily Grenet et Émile Degorce-Dumas) qui fut en résidence à la Manutention au Palais de Tokyo et présenté lors du Festival International de Performance DO DISTURB.

Vincent Voillat explore les liens qui s’opèrent entre un territoire (réel ou virtuel), les flux qui le traversent, ses habitants et leurs mémoires. Il étudie plus particulièrement le rapport entre le paysage et sa perception. Sa démarche se fonde sur le prélèvement : extractions géologiques de roches, études des strates, fouilles archéologiques ou études de végétaux... Il emprunte aussi les matériaux de ses œuvres à la culture populaire : musiques, objets trouvés, récits… Il décèle dans le paysage choisi pour ses interventions la trace des corps et en révèle l'empreinte, la persistance et leurs impressions sur la mémoire du lieu. Il réinvente par l'association, la juxtaposition ou la réinterprétation, un territoire conceptuel dont les récits, l’écriture et le texte permettent de produire les liens qui unissent ces formes hétérogènes.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Dans le cadre du festival L’Appel du Large qui aura lieu du 2 au 4 juillet 2021, Vincent Voillat présente une installation. Plus d'informations sur L'Appel du Large ici.