Visit
March 30, 2018

Did you say BaRock?

Baroque music meets electronic music at the Easter Festival

The happy meeting between Justin Taylor, the most prominent young harpsichordist of his generation, and David Chalmin, a composer of the American minimalist movement, resulted in the commission of these Seven Particles, mixing baroque instruments with electric guitar and various synthesizers. Preceded by an anthology of major baroque works, these Seven Particles will leave a large part to the improvisation as it was the custom at the time.

Justin Taylor, harpsichord and organ

The young Franco-American musician won, at the age of 23, the First Prize of the prestigious Bruges International Harpsichord Competition(Musiqua Antica International Competition Brugge). He also won the Audience Prize, the Alpha Prize and the EUBO Developping Trust Prize for the most promising young European baroque musician. Justin was nominated for the Victoires de la musique classique 2017 in the category Instrumental Soloist Revelation. That same year, the professional critics' association awarded him the Musical Revelation Prize.

From a very young age, Justin Taylor has been playing the piano and the harpsichord with passion. After studying both instruments in Angers, his hometown, Justin continued his studies at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris in the classes of Roger Muraro for the piano and Olivier Baumont and Blandine Rannou for the harpsichord.

His first solo disc, released in September 2016 by Alpha, paints a musical portrait of the Forqueray family. This recording was awarded, among others, a CHOC de l'année Classica, a Gramophone Editor's Choice, a Grand Prix de l'Académie Charles Cros, a Qobuzissime. After the great success of this first recording, Justin continues his collaboration with Alpha and will release a second album, Continuum, in May 2018. As comfortable on the fortepiano as he is on the harpsichord, Justin Taylor has recorded Mozart's 17th concerto Le Concert de La Loge (CHOC Classica, Aparté label). He will be in residence at BOZAR in Brussels for the 2017/2018 season.

The young musician has performed in recital at the Roque d'Anthéron festival, at the Folle Journée de Nantes, at the Auditorium du Louvre... and in many European cities. Justin Taylor will be heard in concertos with the Orchestre Royal de chambre de Wallonie (Frank Braley), the Geneva Chamber Orchestra, the Orchestre de Picardie and the Mannheim Orchestra...

Justin Taylor has not abandoned the chamber music repertoire. With his ensemble Le Consort, he won the First Prize and the Audience Prize at the 2017 Val de Loire International Early Music Competition, presided over by William Christie. The young musicians of Le Consort perform repertoires as varied as they are complementary: baroque trio sonatas, classical chamber music with fortepiano and vocal repertoire with mezzo-soprano Eva Zaïcik. They are about to release a recording of French cantatas for Alpha. Justin has already been the guest of several programs broadcast on France 3, France Musique, RTBF-Musiq3... Justin Taylor is supported by the Fondation d'entreprise Safran and has been in residence at the Fondation Singer-Polignac with Le Consort since 2016.

David Chalmin, electronics and electric guitar

Composer, producer, sound engineer and musician, whether classical or avant-garde, David Chalmin explores music in all its forms.

From September 2018 and for two seasons, David will be an associate composer at Lieu Unique in Nantes.

In 2017, the Easter Festival of Deauville commissioned him to write a piece for baroque ensemble and electronics.

In March 2017 he wrote the original music for Madonna's short film Her Story, filmed by Luigi & Iango.

He is a member of the band Triple Sun alongside Massimo Pupillo and Raphaël Séguinier. Their debut album The City Lies in Ruins was released by Consouling Sounds in May 2016. Triple Sun joined forces with pianist Katia Labèque to create a project around Moondog' s music, which premiered at the Nuits de Fourvière (Lyon) in 2016.

In September 2016, the band joined Bryce and Aaron Dessner (The National) and Justin Vernon (Bon Iver) for the Invisible Bridge project at the Philharmonie de Paris.

In 2015, the ballet Star-Cross'd Lovers for which David composed the music was premiered at the Cité de la Musique. This work written for pianists Katia & Marielle Labèque accompanied by electric guitar, electronics and percussion, is based on Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet . The recording of this piece was released in 2017 by Deutsche Grammophon.

In 2014, the WDR Orchestra of Cologne commissioned him to write a suite of arrangements of Bernard Hermann's film music for piano, electric guitar and bass, percussion and orchestra.

In 2013, he created the duo UBUNOIR with the drummer Raphaël Séguinier.

As a sound engineer and producer he has worked with Shannon Wright, The National, Katia & Marielle Labèque, The Third Eye Foundation, Zu, Orchard, Gaspar Claus, Angelique Ionatos, Sting, Nadeah, B For Bang, Kalakan, Perrine En Morceaux, Antoine Sahler, François Morel, etc...

All about the

22nd Easter Festival

Practice

This is a first for the Festival, this concert will be broadcast live on Facebook. The concerts take place in the Salle Elie de Brignac, usually dedicated to horse sales. Its interior architecture made of laminated wood provides a very high quality acoustic sound. Arranged in an amphitheater, the 550 seats guarantee what is precious during a concert: the proximity with the artists.

Prices :
- 1 concert: 30 € (members of the association: 25 €, - 18 years old, students and job seekers: 10 € with reservation, free 1h before the concert at the ticket office of the Elie de Brignac hall and within the limits of available seats).
- Subscription for 7 concerts : 170 € (association members : 130 €)

Ticketing opens on February 19, 2018
Center International de Deauville (CID)
1, avenue Lucien Barrière, 14800 Deauville
Monday to Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. (without interruption)
Tel: 02 31 14 14 74
billetterie@congres-deauville.com

Sale on the spot before the concert - opening 1h before the concert
And on internet : www.badgecid.com

Close

Contact us:
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices :

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
See opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See opening hours

TOUQUES TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
See opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Promenade Louis Delamare
(behind the first-aid post)
14800 Tourgéville
See opening hours

Vous avez dit BaRock ?

Quand la musique baroque rencontre la musique électronique au Festival de Pâques

La rencontre heureuse entre Justin Taylor, le jeune claveciniste le plus en vue de sa génération et David Chalmin, compositeur de la mouvance minimaliste américaine, a aboutit à la commande de ces Sept Particules, mêlant instruments baroques à la guitare électrique et à divers synthétiseurs. Précédées d’un florilège d’oeuvres baroques majeures, ces Sept Particules laisseront une large part à l’improvisation comme c’était l’usage à l’époque.

Justin Taylor, clavecin et orgue

Le jeune musicien franco-américain remporte, à tout juste 23 ans, le Premier prix du prestigieux concours international de clavecin de Bruges (Musiqua Antica International Competition Brugge). Il décroche aussi le Prix du public, le Prix Alpha et le Prix de l’EUBO Developping Trust décerné au jeune musicien baroque européen le plus prometteur. Justin est nommé aux Victoires de la musique classique 2017 dans la catégorie Révélation soliste instrumental. Cette même année, l’association professionnelle de la critique lui décerne le Prix révélation musicale.

Depuis son plus jeune âge, Justin Taylor pratique le piano et le clavecin avec passion. Après avoir étudié en parallèle ces deux instruments à Angers, sa ville natale, Justin poursuit son parcours au Conservatoire national supérieur de musique de Paris dans les classes de Roger Muraro pour le piano, d’Olivier Baumont et Blandine Rannou pour le clavecin.

Son premier disque solo, paru en septembre 2016 chez Alpha, dresse un portrait musical de la famille Forqueray. Ce disque a été récompensé, entre autres, par un CHOC de l’année Classica, un Gramophone Editor’s Choice, un Grand Prix de l’Académie Charles Cros, un Qobuzissime. Après le vif succès rencontré par ce premier enregistrement, Justin poursuit sa collaboration avec Alpha et sortira en mai 2018 un second album, Continuum. Aussi à l’aise au pianoforte qu’au clavecin, Justin Taylor a enregistré le 17ème concerto de Mozart Le Concert de La Loge (CHOC Classica, label Aparté). Il sera en résidence au BOZAR à Bruxelles pour la saison 2017/2018.

On a pu entendre le jeune musicien en récital au festival de la Roque d’Anthéron, à la Folle Journée de Nantes, à l’Auditorium du Louvre… et dans de nombreuses villes européennes. On retrouvera Justin Taylor dans des concertos avec l’Orchestre Royal de chambre de Wallonie (Frank Braley), l’orchestre de chambre de Genève, l’orchestre de Picardie ou encore l’orchestre de Mannheim…

Justin Taylor ne délaisse pas pour autant le répertoire de musique de chambre. Avec son ensemble Le Consort, il remporte le Premier prix et le Prix du public au Concours international de musique ancienne du Val de Loire 2017, présidé par William Christie. Les jeunes musiciens du Consort interprètent des répertoires aussi variés que complémentaires : les sonates en trio baroques, la musique de chambre classique avec pianoforte et le répertoire vocal avec la mezzo-soprano Eva Zaïcik. Ils s’apprêtent d’ailleurs à sortir un enregistrement de cantates françaises pour Alpha. Justin a déjà été l’invité de plusieurs émissions diffusées sur France 3, France Musique, sur RTBF-Musiq3... Justin Taylor est soutenu par la Fondation d’entreprise Safran et est en résidence à la Fondation Singer-Polignac avec Le Consort depuis 2016.

David Chalmin, électronique et guitare électrique

Compositeur, producteur, ingénieur du son et musicien, qu’elle soit classique ou d’avant-garde, David Chalmin explore la musique sous toutes ses formes.

À partir de septembre 2018 et pendant deux saison, David sera compositeur associé au Lieu Unique de Nantes.

En 2017, le Festival de Pâques de Deauville lui commandent une pièce pour ensemble baroque et électronique.

En mars 2017 il écrit la musique originale du court-étrage de Madonna intitulé Her Story, filmé par Luigi & Iango.

Il est membre du groupe Triple Sun aux côtés de Massimo Pupillo et Raphaël Séguinier. Leur premier album The City Lies in Ruins est sorti chez Consouling Sounds en mai 2016. Triple Sun s'est associé à la pianiste Katia Labèque afin de créer un projet autour de la musique de Moondog dont la première a eu lieu aux Nuits de Fourvière (Lyon) en 2016.

En septembre 2016, le groupe a rejoint Bryce et Aaron Dessner (The National) et Justin Vernon (Bon Iver) pour le projet Invisible Bridge à la Philharmonie de Paris.

En 2015, le ballet Star-Cross'd Lovers dont David a composé la musique est créé à la Cité de la Musique. Cette œuvre écrite pour les pianistes Katia & Marielle Labèque accompagnées de guitare électrique, électronique et percussions, est basée sur Roméo et Juliette de Shakespeare. L'enregistrement de cette pièce est sorti en 2017 chez Deutsche Grammophon.

En 2014, l'orchestre WDR de Cologne lui passe commande d’une suite d'arrangements des musiques de film de Bernard Hermann pour piano, guitare et basse électriques, percussions et orchestre.

En 2013, il crée le duo UBUNOIR avec le batteur Raphaël Séguinier.

En tant qu’ingénieur du son et producteur il a notamment travaillé avec Shannon Wright, The National, Katia & Marielle Labèque, The Third Eye Foundation, Zu, Orchard, Gaspar Claus, Angélique Ionatos, Sting, Nadeah, B For Bang, Kalakan, Perrine En Morceaux, Antoine Sahler, François Morel, etc...

Tout savoir sur le

22e Festival de Pâques

Pratique

C'est une première pour le Festival, ce concert sera diffusé en direct sur Facebook. Les concerts se déroulent à la Salle Elie de Brignac, dédiée habituellement aux ventes de chevaux. Son architecture intérieure en bois lamellé permet d'obtenir un son acoustique de très haute qualité. Disposés en amphithéâtre, les quelques 550 places garantissent ce qui est précieux lors d'un concert : la proximité avec les artistes.

Tarifs :
- 1 concert : 30 € (membres de l'association : 25 €, - 18 ans, étudiants et demandeurs d'emploi : 10 € avec réservation, gratuit 1h avant le concert à la billetterie de la salle Elie de Brignac et dans la limite des places disponibles.)
- Abonnement 7 concerts : 170 € (membres de l'association : 130 €)

Ouverture de la billetterie le 19 février 2018
Centre International de Deauville (CID)
1, avenue Lucien Barrière, 14800 Deauville
Du lundi au vendredi de 8h30 à 18h (sans interruption)
Tél : 02 31 14 14 74
billetterie@congres-deauville.com

Vente sur place avant le concert – ouverture 1h avant le concert
Et sur internet : www.badgecid.com