French Dutch English German Spanish

Vasantha Yogananthan

Photographer invited to the Planche (s) Contact festival in 2017

Marie & Shannon, Deauville, 2017, From the Meriphérie series © Vasantha Yogananthan
Hamadi & Yero, Deauville, 2017 From the Meriphérie series © Vasantha Yogananthan

Periphery

Born in 1985, Vasantha Yogananthan is a self-taught photographer and editor, of Franco-Tamil origin, who lives and works in Paris. In 2014, Vasantha Yogananthan co-founded the publishing house Chose Commune and published Piémanson, the fruit of long-term work carried out between 2010 and 2013 rewarded by the Bourse du Talent Paysage. This work, hailed by critics, was nominated for the Nadar Prize 2014 and the Author's Book Prize at the Rencontres d'Arles 2015. In 2015, Vasantha Yogananthan won the IdeasTap / Magnum Photos Award for his project A Myth of Two Souls on the significance of the Ramayana in India. In this major project centered around the publication of 7 books (2013-2019), it goes beyond the framework of documentary photography to venture into fiction. Vasantha Yogananthan received the Levallois Prize (2016) and an ICP Infinity Award Emerging Photographer of the Year (2017).

Self-taught photographer, Vasantha Yogananthan belongs to this young generation of photographer who likes to blur the lines between reality and fiction. While he seizes subjects with a strong social dimension, his images remain at a distance from traditional documentaries.
In Deauville, Vasantha Yogananthan goes to meet the families who live on the beach for a summer, in the seaside cabins. He has produced a series of portraits in the bedroom, focusing on long time and staging. His use of color, in almost neutral pastel tones, gives an unexpected softness to subjects whose social or symbolic content is of great strength.

Vasantha Yogananthan about her exhibition Periphery
"With family, friends, group, they come to Deauville to spend a day at the beach. In this space-time outside of everyday life which releases all seaside energy. Blue only for horizon, the look of the other does not matter. If it is in vain for the spectator to predict the variable sky of the edges of the Channel; he can see in the eyes those who see the sea for the first time. The border of the ring road was swept away by the tide. It was time."

 

My travel book

Vasantha Yogananthan

Photographe invité au festival Planche(s) Contact en 2017

Marie & Shannon, Deauville, 2017, De la série Meriphérie ©Vasantha Yogananthan
Hamadi & Yero, Deauville, 2017 De la série Meriphérie ©Vasantha Yogananthan

Mériphérie

Né en 1985, Vasantha Yogananthan est un photographe et éditeur autodidacte, d’origine franco-tamoule, qui vit et travaille à Paris. En 2014, Vasantha Yogananthan co-fonde la maison d’édition Chose Commune et publie Piémanson, fruit d’un travail au long cours réalisé entre 2010 et 2013 récompensé par la Bourse du Talent Paysage. Ce travail, salué par la critique est nominé au Prix Nadar 2014 et au Prix du livre d’auteur des Rencontres d’Arles 2015. En 2015, Vasantha Yogananthan est lauréat du IdeasTap/Magnum Photos Award pour son projet A Myth of Two Souls sur la prégnance du Ramayana en Inde. Dans ce projet d’envergure centré autour de la publication de 7 ouvrages (2013-2019), il dépasse le cadre de la photographie documentaire pour s’aventurer vers la fiction. Vasantha Yogananthan a reçu le Prix Levallois (2016) et un ICP Infinity Award Emerging Photographer of the Year (2017).

Photographe autodidacte , Vasantha Yogananthan appartient à cette jeune génération de photographe qui aime brouiller les lignes entre réel et fiction. Alors qu’il s’empare de sujets à forte dimension sociale, ses images restent à distance du documentaire traditionnel.
A Deauville, Vasantha Yogananthan part à la rencontre des familles qui habitent la plage le temps d’un été, dans les cabines du bord mer. Il a réalisé une série de portraits à la chambre, privilégiant le temps long et la mise en scène. Son usage de la couleur, aux tons pastels presque neutres, donne une douceur inattendue à des sujets dont la teneur sociale ou symbolique est d’une grande force.

Vasantha Yogananthan à propos de son exposition Mériphérie
"En famille, entre amis, en groupe, ils viennent à Deauville passer une journée à la plage. Dans cet espace-temps hors du quotidien qui libère une énergie toute balnéaire. Le bleu pour seul horizon, le regard de l'autre importe peu. S'il est vain pour le spectateur de présager du ciel variable des bords de Manche ; il peut lire dans les regards ceux qui voient la mer pour la première fois. La frontière du périphérique s'est fait emporter par la marée. Il était temps."

 

Fermer

Nous contacter :
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Nos bureaux d’information touristique :

DEAUVILLE TOURISME
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISME
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISME
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERVILLE TOURISME
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOUQUES TOURISME
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISME
Promenade Louis Delamare
(derrière le poste de secours)
14800 Tourgéville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture