French Dutch English German Spanish

Javier Zafra

Musician

Born in Alicante, he entered the Academy of Music Oscar Esplá, where he studied harmony, bassoon and counterpoint. He moved to the Netherlands in 1996 to study the historic bassoon. He studied bassoon and chamber music with Donna Agrell and Ku Ebbinge at the Koninklijk Conservatorium in The Hague, as well as music theory with Peter van Heyghen.

Javier Zafra obtained his baroque bassoon diploma with distinction in June 2000. He was a member of the Baroque Orchestra of the European Union (EUBO) in 1997, then under the direction of Ton Koopman. Since then, he has played, among others, with the Anima Aeterna ensembles, the Champs Elysées Orchestra, Le Concert d'Astrée, Al Ayre Español, and with conductors such as Philippe Herreweghe, Trevor Pinnock, Gustav Leonhard, René Jacobs or Sir Simon Rattle. His main interest is chamber music, he has performed with Lorenzo Coppola (Ensemble Dialoghi), Kristian Bezuidenhout, Alexander Melnikov or Isabelle Faust, with whom he recorded the Octet Schubert. He successfully performed the Mozart KV Bassoon Concerto. 191 at the prestigious KKL Lucerne, at Wigmore Hall in London or at the Lincoln Center in New York which was acclaimed by the New York Times in the Mostly Mozart Festival 2010.

Javier Zafra has been a member of the Friborg Baroque Orchestra since 1999. From 2012 to 2017, he taught the baroque bassoon at the Musikhochschule in Freiburg. From September 2018, he teaches the baroque bassoon at the Koninklijk Conservatory in Brussels.

My travel book

Javier Zafra

Musicien

Né à Alicante, il entre au Conservatoire Supérieur de Musique Oscar Esplá, où il étudie l'harmonie, le basson et le contrepoint. Il s'installe aux Pays-Bas en 1996 pour étudier le basson historique. Il a étudié le basson et la musique de chambre avec Donna Agrell et Ku Ebbinge au Koninklijk Conservatorium de La Haye, ainsi que la théorie musicale avec Peter van Heyghen.

Javier Zafra a obtenu son diplôme de basson baroque avec distinction en juin 2000. Il a été membre de l'Orchestre Baroque de l'Union Européenne (EUBO) en 1997, puis sous la direction de Ton Koopman. Depuis, il a joué entre autres avec les ensembles Anima Aeterna, l'Orchestre des Champs Elysées, Le Concert d'Astrée, l’Al Ayre Español, et avec des chefs tels que Philippe Herreweghe, Trevor Pinnock, Gustav Leonhard, René Jacobs ou Sir Simon Rattle. Son intérêt principal est la musique de chambre, il a joué avec Lorenzo Coppola (Ensemble Dialoghi), Kristian Bezuidenhout, Alexander Melnikov ou Isabelle Faust, avec qui il a enregistré l'Octet Schubert. Il a joué avec succès le Concerto pour basson de Mozart KV. 191 au prestigieux KKL Lucerne, au Wigmore Hall de Londres ou au Lincoln Center de New York qui a été acclamé par le New York Times dans le Mostly Mozart Festival 2010.

Javier Zafra est membre de l'Orchestre Baroque de Fribourg depuis 1999. De 2012 à 2017, il a enseigné le basson baroque à la Musikhochschule de Freiburg. A partir de septembre 2018, il enseigne le basson baroque au Conservatoire de Koninklijk de Bruxelles.